Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > The Basement

Finding a Production Job in the US

(1/4) > >>

Mark Olsen:
My wife is moving us from Australia to Colorado for 2024-26 and I'm tagging along as the +1 this time.

My normal job is in electrical engineering, but my passion is in production.
For about the last 15 years, I've moonlighted as a sound (and sometimes lighting) guy for a local regional production company.
I help them on big festivals and events, where there are multiple stages running at once.
I've got some good experience at the regional act level, but don't really play in the big, big time.

Anyway, when I'm in the US this time, I want to experience being in production full time.
What's the best way to find these jobs?

I've looked on the generic job boards and there are some, but here in Australia its all about who you know, and the best jobs aren't advertised.
How do I find those? Do they exist?
What else do I need to think about?

Mark

Justice C. Bigler:
Tell her you're going on tour, in Australia.

Craig Hauber:

--- Quote from: Mark Olsen on January 26, 2023, 06:40:43 AM ---but here in Australia its all about who you know, and the best jobs aren't advertised.

--- End quote ---

Same here, so whatever you are doing now will probably translate to here. 

brian maddox:

--- Quote from: Mark Olsen on January 26, 2023, 06:40:43 AM ---...
Anyway, when I'm in the US this time, I want to experience being in production full time.
What's the best way to find these jobs?

I've looked on the generic job boards and there are some, but here in Australia its all about who you know, and the best jobs aren't advertised.

Mark

--- End quote ---

"Who you know" is not unique to Australia, it's just the human condition.