ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Finding a Production Job in the US  (Read 1734 times)

Mark Olsen

• Canberra, Australia
Finding a Production Job in the US
« on: January 26, 2023, 06:40:43 AM »

My wife is moving us from Australia to Colorado for 2024-26 and I'm tagging along as the +1 this time.

My normal job is in electrical engineering, but my passion is in production.
For about the last 15 years, I've moonlighted as a sound (and sometimes lighting) guy for a local regional production company.
I help them on big festivals and events, where there are multiple stages running at once.
I've got some good experience at the regional act level, but don't really play in the big, big time.

Anyway, when I'm in the US this time, I want to experience being in production full time.
What's the best way to find these jobs?

I've looked on the generic job boards and there are some, but here in Australia its all about who you know, and the best jobs aren't advertised.
How do I find those? Do they exist?
What else do I need to think about?

Mark

Justice C. Bigler

• SR Forums
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: Finding a Production Job in the US
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2023, 04:52:56 PM »

Tell her you're going on tour, in Australia.
Justice C. Bigler
Business Rep, IATSE Local 354
www.justicebigler.com

Craig Hauber

• Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2023, 06:36:46 PM »

but here in Australia its all about who you know, and the best jobs aren't advertised.

Same here, so whatever you are doing now will probably translate to here. 
Craig Hauber
Mondak Sound Design
-Live PA
-Installs
-Theatre

brian maddox

• HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2023, 03:18:57 PM »

Anyway, when I'm in the US this time, I want to experience being in production full time.