ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: OK. I'll bite. How to gracefully shut down M32C and DL16 w/o popping speakers  (Read 2237 times)

frank kayser

• Maryland suburbs of Washington DC

I'm new to the M32C.  The A&H QU desks/racks had a menu option to shut down the mixer.  That allowed the main power switch to be used to turn the entire rig off - AB168, powered speakers, yada yada.  A graceful shutdown with no potentially damaging speaker pops. ;D 

I can shut the M32C down without issue - the DL16 is the problem.  State of the mixer is irrelevant - mixer and mutes on, kill the DL16 and POP!  Same with mixer off, or if turned off together via a common switch  >:(

Now I could (*should*) power down the speaker system first.  a failing memory and help as it is, that is not guaranteed.  Is there a way via the application (Mixing Station, M32Mix, or M32Edit) to shut down the DL16 outputs gracefully so the actual power down does not pop the speakers?

I could use a power sequencer - turn on DL16, then M32c, then speakers/amps.  Off would kill speakers first, then the M32c, finally the DL16.  Of course, pulling the plug would pop the speakers, but that is true regardless of the mixer/stage box/powered speakers/amps.

« Last Edit: August 27, 2022, 09:53:24 AM by frank kayser »

Jeff M Hague

I'm new to the M32C.  The A&H QU desks/racks had a menu option to shut down the mixer.  That allowed the main power switch to be used to turn the entire rig off - AB168, powered speakers, yada yada.  A graceful shutdown with no potentially damaging speaker pops. ;D 

I can shut the M32C down without issue - the DL16 is the problem.  State of the mixer is irrelevant - mixer and mutes on, kill the DL16 and POP!  Same with mixer off, or if turned off together via a common switch  >:(