ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Backup for a Presonus 32sc  (Read 601 times)

John M. Roll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« on: August 07, 2022, 07:19:19 PM »

Looking for suggestions for a backup for my 32sc. I want to be prepared in the event that the board goes down. 
Logged

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 938
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2022, 10:01:11 PM »

Not sure of Presonus' implementation but in MT land, I can have my x32 rack act as a stagebox to my m32r. Sweetwater has a bundle where they sell the 32sc with the 16r so I guess that may be the same approach?
Logged

Matt Vivlamore

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2022, 10:04:19 PM »

are you not confident in the Presonus?  Might be time to sell it and buy something with a better track record.
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2555
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2022, 10:52:02 PM »

are you not confident in the Presonus?  Might be time to sell it and buy something with a better track record.

All digital boards are computers, and can unexpectedly fail.  If you don't have a backup plan and the board goes down, it's show over time.

I had a show last year where there was a lighting strike nearby that ended up completely taking out 2 out of 3 of my X32's in use for the event, and one AES port on the 3rd.  Had I not had a spare in the truck, the show wouldn't have gone on.

Now, I do really like the X32 implementation where you can use X32 racks as stage boxes.  If you lose one piece, you can scramble and use one of the other pieces as a fully functioning system.  Each of my amp racks contains an X32 rack for that reason.  Worst case scenario I can usually patch things in a way to get sound flowing again when crap hits the fan.
Logged
Brian Jojade

John M. Roll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2022, 02:33:21 PM »

Looking for suggestions for a backup for my 32sc. I want to be prepared in the event that the board goes down.

Do you think an MR18 would be overkill for this task? I looked at the Presonus 16r, but am having a hard time justifying the cost for something that'll basically be there on standby.
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2555
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2022, 01:33:56 AM »

Do you think an MR18 would be overkill for this task? I looked at the Presonus 16r, but am having a hard time justifying the cost for something that'll basically be there on standby.

What's your game plan to get the backup in place?  If you've got to drop in an entirely different mixer, are you going to have a mix ready that you can simply load up and go, or are you going to have to start from scratch?

If it's going to take too long to get the backup in place, your show may be over before you can get back online.

I'm not completely familiar with the current presonus line, so I don't know how compatible they are regarding show files and whatnot.  With the X32/M32 line, it's as simple as saving your show to a USB stick once you've done soundcheck, and if you had to load that onto a backup console, it's a 2 minute process and you're back in business exactly where you left off.  Note that the MR18 is a completely different family, so it doesn't play along the same way.

If you start mixing and matching things for backup, you might save a few dollars, but then when time comes to implement said backup when seconds count, you may end up regretting that decision.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 828
  • Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2022, 01:07:29 PM »

Do you think an MR18 would be overkill for this task? I looked at the Presonus 16r, but am having a hard time justifying the cost for something that'll basically be there on standby.
Can't the 16r serve stage box duty for your mixer?  (Or is that only the newest models?)
 
That would be ideal for backup.  If surface goes down just jump on PC or tablet and continue because everything is still patched exactly as you had it for the big surface.
-You can even do a quick soundcheck in that mode so switchover will be minimally painless if it happens.
Logged
Craig Hauber
Mondak Sound Design
-Live PA
-Installs
-Theatre

Sean Anderson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2022, 10:25:09 AM »

Yes it can. It will load files from the bigger boards but only the first 16 channels and 6 mixes. Nothing wrong here if you only ever use 16 channels. I would get a 24r, that'll be a straight load if you use more. This is what I do.
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6822
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2022, 08:18:35 PM »

What's your game plan to get the backup in place?  If you've got to drop in an entirely different mixer, are you going to have a mix ready that you can simply load up and go, or are you going to have to start from scratch?

If it's going to take too long to get the backup in place, your show may be over before you can get back online.

I'm not completely familiar with the current presonus line, so I don't know how compatible they are regarding show files and whatnot.  With the X32/M32 line, it's as simple as saving your show to a USB stick once you've done soundcheck, and if you had to load that onto a backup console, it's a 2 minute process and you're back in business exactly where you left off.  Note that the MR18 is a completely different family, so it doesn't play along the same way.

If you start mixing and matching things for backup, you might save a few dollars, but then when time comes to implement said backup when seconds count, you may end up regretting that decision.


It's even easier there is a utility that backs up your console and restores it to another machine.  I think the latest version allows you to do changes to routing and some scene safes. IIRC.  https://sourceforge.net/projects/x32livetoolbox/


Wow it's really been updated since the last time, You should be able to script exactly what you want with this. 
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

John M. Roll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2022, 02:35:36 PM »


It's even easier there is a utility that backs up your console and restores it to another machine.  I think the latest version allows you to do changes to routing and some scene safes. IIRC.  https://sourceforge.net/projects/x32livetoolbox/


Wow it's really been updated since the last time, You should be able to script exactly what you want with this.

Scott,
Are you saying that I can backup the Presonus and restore it to an MR18 with this utility?

John
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Backup for a Presonus 32sc
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2022, 02:35:36 PM »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.037 seconds with 20 queries.