Church and H.O.W. – Forums for HOW Sound and AV - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Church and HOW Forums > Church Sound

Excess sound being picked up

(1/2) > >>

Ryan Reicker:
Currently have 4 wireless mics and we have two mic’s picking up excess sound and I am puzzled as to what could be causing this. If I cue them up on the TF3 you hear the monitors plus their voice but the surrounding noise is tinny, the other 2 wireless mics don’t pic this up. The two offending channels don’t peak or clip.

I am not a pro by any means so
Keep it simple stupid.!.

Thanks

Tim Weaver:

--- Quote from: Ryan Reicker on May 29, 2022, 05:32:50 PM ---Currently have 4 wireless mics and we have two mic’s picking up excess sound and I am puzzled as to what could be causing this. If I cue them up on the TF3 you hear the monitors plus their voice but the surrounding noise is tinny, the other 2 wireless mics don’t pic this up. The two offending channels don’t peak or clip.

I am not a pro by any means so
Keep it simple stupid.!.

Thanks

--- End quote ---

I'm going out on a limb here, but I'm guessing the two offending channels have more gain than the other two. That could be on the TF3 somewhere (headamp, compressor, digital trim, etc) or it could be in the mic itself, or the reciever. All of these spots have some kind of gain controls to fiddle with.

What you are hearing sounds like "bleed" or basically it's every thing on stage that you don't want, coming into the mic. If the microphone gain is higher than it needs to be, you'll pick up every noise around you. Sometimes this happens with a low-volume singer, or an inexperienced singer/speaker that doesn't want the mic any where near their sound-hole.

There is one hard ans fast rule in sound reinforcement. The loudest sound at the mic wins.

Ryan Reicker:
Hey Tim,