ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: First Monitor Mixing Gig - suggestions?  (Read 4591 times)

Douglas Cyr

First Monitor Mixing Gig - suggestions?
« on: November 30, 2021, 03:13:52 AM »

Hello,

This Friday I'll be doing my first dedicated monitor mixing job and also the biggest production I've engineered for - in an arena for a halftime show.

Luckily it's simple -
-Rapper/singer with IEMs and wedges
-DJ with side fills

Console is an M32. This is all the info I have so far and I'll definitely be gathering more as the show comes closer. It's my first time using IEMs but I've mixed monitors from FOH before.

Is there any info you guys and girls think I should have going into this? I like to be overprepared even if it is a very simple gig. I've read that in ears need a low cut as well as some added air above 10k, aswell as reverb for space. I've also heard about notching out the "pilot tone" of the RF transmission from the master EQ. If the singer is going to be moving around, whats the best technique for ringing out the monitors for a moving microphone?

Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks,
Doug

Matt Vivlamore

• Lab Lounge
  • Southern Maryland
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
Re: First Monitor Mixing Gig - suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2021, 09:43:34 AM »

let the artist tell you what they want to hear.
We're based in Southern Maryland, and LIKE us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/

John Sulek

• Toronto Canada
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2021, 10:28:02 AM »

Hello,

This Friday I'll be doing my first dedicated monitor mixing job and also the biggest production I've engineered for - in an arena for a halftime show.

Luckily it's simple -
-Rapper/singer with IEMs and wedges
-DJ with side fills