Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Pro AV Forum

70 volt distributed audio (PA System) Help

(1/2) > >>

Jeff Ford:
    I am a complete newbie to audio, been in industrial maintenance for 30 years. I was resently asked to install 8 ceiling mount speakers in the restrooms in our plant so no one would miss an emergency announcement while taking care of business. Being me I started asking questions about the curent system such as current system wattage and load and no one could answer any questions so it was time to dig in. What I found, I believe, is a severely overload system. I found a system with close to 500 watts of speakers on a 120 watt TOA amp. I have been going through the 37 speakers, 31 horns, and now 6 cieling speakers on this 8 to 10 line system and adjusting the wattage taps and am now down to around 250 watts and with about 34 ohms impedance. I know I am over on the wattage but am within line on impedance max of 41 ohms. So my first question is which is more inportant, wattage load or impedance. This system has been running at this load level for probably some 10 plus years with what seems to be some minor feedback issues at some phone locations when paging. Its seem to have helped with feedback after adjusting the speaker wattage level lower but still some issues. The company seems willing to put some money into it just not sure best direction to go as most acticles I have read would direct toward an amp in the 500 watt size to get back to the original speaker tap settings allthough I believe some could stay where I have them now. Looking for some direction.

Caleb Dueck: