ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommend RF Spectrum Analyzer  (Read 2889 times)

Michael Lascuola

• WoodlawnSound.com
Recommend RF Spectrum Analyzer
« on: August 30, 2021, 04:25:25 PM »

Things are getting out of hand!  Wireless mics, wireless IEMs, WAPs, wireless DMX lights...
Some gigs are crapshoot now.  I am completely new to RF analysis; is there a device that connects to an iPad or laptop that would allow me to make sure all of these devices stay in their lane?

Thanks in advance!
Colorado Springs, CO

Russell Ault

• Edmonton, AB
Re: Recommend RF Spectrum Analyzer
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2021, 11:06:19 PM »

Things are getting out of hand!  Wireless mics, wireless IEMs, WAPs, wireless DMX lights...
Some gigs are crapshoot now.  I am completely new to RF analysis; is there a device that connects to an iPad or laptop that would allow me to make sure all of these devices stay in their lane?

Thanks in advance!

I'm sure others with more RF experience (and higher day-rates) will be along shortly to expand on the price/performance ratio of higher-end options, but I've been plenty happy with my "cheap and cheerful" RF Explorer, at least as far as UHF wireless goes.

(I don't tend to bother myself too much with ISM band equipment. In most cases either it will work—perhaps after an automated channel scan—or it won't work, but either way analysis probably isn't going to help much. This, to me, is one more reason to avoid public-use spectrum if at all possible.)

-Russ

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2021, 11:33:57 PM »