Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > DJ Forum

Electro Voice ETX Series: Data Sheet Disparity?

(1/2) > >>

Peter J. Curtis:
To preface, I have little experience with the ETX line but I know the parts are the same as the Tour X, essentially making the ETX line a powered and redone version of the Tour X, except for the ETX 18SP which uses the Phoenix driver.

My question is regarding the data sheets posted on Electro Voice's site. It was brought to my attention that on the second page of the data sheet, where the frequency response graphs are, that the ETX 35P only has an advantage over the ETX 15P from about 700Hz-1000Hz.

Now I know the main difference is that the ETX 35P can be splayed given its 60/40 coverage and its 3-way design. Thus, it's easy to argue why the ETX 35P is probably a touch less loud (the difference is probably not noticeable in real world usage), but when comparing the ETX 10P and ETX 12P graphs, the ETX 10P actually looks like the better choice, when one has a sub. But honestly, I probably wouldn't run any of the ETX tops without a sub because the woofers are not of the same caliber to be run without a sub as something like the ZXa5 (my opinion). It is just that the ZX line is at the end of its life and will, most likely, be discontinued shortly.