Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB Lounge

Tom microphones

<< < (6/7) > >>

Will Knight:
Primarily use this the Audix D-Series here. Also frequently use 604ís and the ole standby 57ís.
Iíve managed to figured out a nice tight & crisp sound from the D4ís for the soft rock/jazz/R&B categories I suggest usually work in.

Ed Taylor:

--- Quote from: Alec Spence on July 27, 2021, 06:22:14 PM ---It's e604 for me - for all the same reasons.

Connectors?  Right angled XLRs are your friend here...

--- End quote ---

ding ding !!

yep...e604s have been my choice for the toms. My rig is marketed to semi-pro private events, so not as "demanding" as some national acts can be. But never a complaint and I get all I want on the toms...even at times when the board might be limited or for whatever reason I want to place a single e604 between the two rack toms.  Again, I'm not a pro audio provider, but these work for me.
I have the Audix for kick, but other options as well...I don't always love/like the audix.

good ol sm57 for snare/hat and I have several options in condensors for overhead brass..including Sennheiser and Shure..but my secret when no one is looking is I have a pair of Peavey condensors that I actually really like.

Jeremy Young:
I'm really happy with the PR28's in my Heil drum mic kit, and don't think anyone has mentioned those yet.  I've had good success with all the standard E604/Audix d-series/Shure Beta56a type but got rid of them all ages ago so I haven't had a chance to compare in the same setting. 

The Beta56's I used had a lot of road time on them before I got my hands on them granted, but the swivel joint/A56D clamp combination always seemed to wobble loose with a heavy-handed drummer.  Tighten by hand, tighten some more, wrap with e-tape, retighten after 3 songs.