Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Pro AV Forum

Advice: PRX612m/ VRX918s / SRX818sp DJ Setup

(1/5) > >>

Mike Sircee:
I've been a fly on the wall for a while reading up on some great advice here and now I'm looking to get some direction of my own on the best way to setup my equipment with future add-ons.

I'm have two VRX918s with four PRX612m.  I was advised that the Behringer NX6000D would be the best amp option within my budget and had someone familiar with the amp and VRX subs swing by and setup the amp.  I'm new to all of this, so I'm putting faith in someone else's "knowledge" that they set it up for maximum results.

I recently ran this setup at an outdoor setting with a DJ ( electronic / House) and approx. 350 people. It sounded good.
...although it felt like it was lacking something.

I've read several posts talking about it not being a good idea mixing different brands of speakers, especially subs as they don't play well together.

My questions and concerns:

* Are there any issues with running the VRX918 subs with the PRX612 tops? 
* Knowing that the VRX subs are Line array cabinets, will they experience any drops in quality if they were placed on the ground opposed to flying them?
* If I added a SRX828sp cabinet, would it play well with the two VRX918's and four PRX612m tops? 
Thanks in advance!

Thomas Le:
Welcome,

1. No, they're just tops and subs, you can run Yamaha tops with QSC subs and they could technically still play together if you get the crossover ok. The only time it matters is to keep the same tops and/or the same subs uniform, for example don't run a mix of QSC and JBL tops at the same time and don't run Yamaha subs with EV subs.

2. No, you can groundstack them, they're basically the SRX718 subs with flyware installed.