ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Backup Power Supply Question  (Read 1394 times)

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2516
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Backup Power Supply Question
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2021, 12:21:10 PM »

I have 3 with the Midas daisy chain cables. All 3 stay on so if one goes out the rest stay lit like the miniature christmas lights from the 70's. i never had a failure.

Do you carry an offline spare too?  A power surge could take out all 3 live power supplies, and then there you sit.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2420
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: Backup Power Supply Question
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2021, 12:55:58 PM »

Do you carry an offline spare too?  A power surge could take out all 3 live power supplies, and then there you sit.
Back in Ye Olde days, it was fairly common to have 2 power supplies on a switcher, but only have one actually plugged in. That way, a supply line "problem" wouldn't take out both supplies.
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

Jared Bartimus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
  • Normal, IL
Re: Backup Power Supply Question
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2021, 03:57:19 PM »

Back in Ye Olde days, it was fairly common to have 2 power supplies on a switcher, but only have one actually plugged in. That way, a supply line "problem" wouldn't take out both supplies.
Chris.

As long as whoever is at FOH checks voltages before hitting the switch and killing the other supply.
Logged

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2420
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: Backup Power Supply Question
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2021, 08:07:42 AM »

As long as whoever is at FOH checks voltages before hitting the switch and killing the other supply.
Before "hitting the switch", you would meter the AC supply BEFORE plugging in the second power supply.....
If left to it's own devices, both supplies would be always powered, and the switcher would flip supplies as needed.
Never a good thing with funky power......
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Backup Power Supply Question
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2021, 08:07:42 AM »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.