Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB Lounge

Tap Tempo techniques?

(1/5) > >>

Kevin Maxwell:
Tap Tempo techniques?

I have been doing sound for a long time now but I never liked or really needed tap tempo type of delays. I have always been a bit of a purist just a little bit of reverb on vocals.  But the more I use digital consoles I have started playing around with some of the other effects available on them. One issue I have always had was what I thought was the tempo seems to not be quick enough. I am not a trained musician, I used to play the guitar but I was a mediocre rhythm guitar player that was lucky to play with more talented people them me. So I am probably not taping on the right beats. I think I am using the main rhythm and not really the beat. I am probably not even using the correct terminology.

So any suggestions? I have tried to find a video that might have some have some good training and suggestions for live sound but all I can find are ones for how to do it post production in specific DAWs.  Maybe my search terms arenít right.

And one specific question I have is if a song starts that needs the delay repeat to be at a specific tempo from the beginning of the song, I assume that you would dial that number in to start with (not tap it) but donít you need the tap part to get the repeats to be on the beat at the start of the song? So is there a way to dial in the timing but tap to start it at the right time in the song? Or am I missing something? This is obviously for live sound as I said. I assume that the recording guys can play around with the settings till they get it right.

While playing with some dry tacks to try and get used to a Tap Tempo delay I found that I liked it when it was used very subtlety along with a subtle reverb.

Dave Pluke:

--- Quote from: Kevin Maxwell on July 13, 2021, 11:20:09 PM ---So any suggestions?