Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board

Meyer X-20: Do you like them?

(1/5) > >>

John Dippel:
Newbie here. Hope I'm in the right place.
I'm thinking of buying the Meyer X-20 speaker and would like feedback on people's experience with them.
I play small indoor clubs with either a full band or solo. I currently use EV Qrx 112/75 (with an optional Danley mini sub), which I love. However, they are heavy and I am aging, so I'm looking for something lighter but still with similar sound quality. I noticed the X-20 and it seems to fit the bill. I'd love to get feedback from people who have used them.
So, if you've used them: do you like them? Any issues? Thanks.  :)

Art Welter:

--- Quote from: John Dippel on July 11, 2021, 04:52:19 PM ---Newbie here. Hope I'm in the right place.
I'm thinking of buying the Meyer X-20 speaker and would like feedback on people's experience with them.
I play small indoor clubs with either a full band or solo. I currently use EV Qrx 112/75 (with an optional Danley mini sub), which I love. However, they are heavy and I am aging, so I'm looking for something lighter but still with similar sound quality.

--- End quote ---

John,

Dropping from 58 pounds of weight to 27 pounds is a little more than a 3dB reduction, while reducing from a 12" driver to 2x5" is a reduction of cone area by around 2.7 times (the HF driver Sd reduction is about 2 times), more than a 6 dB reduction in output.

In terms of sound "quality", not an issue, but it takes a certain level to "keep up" to a full band and ambient noise in a club.
In simple terms of SPL (sound pressure level), what your EV Qrx 112/75 could do at 50 feet (18 meters), the Meyer X-20 would max out at about 20-25 feet (8-9 meters).

Art

Doug Fowler:

--- Quote from: John Dippel on July 11, 2021, 04:52:19 PM ---Newbie here. Hope I'm in the right place.