ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??  (Read 3049 times)

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« on: July 03, 2021, 10:13:27 PM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?
« Last Edit: July 03, 2021, 10:15:49 PM by Bob Faulkner »
Logged

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2444
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2021, 12:31:21 AM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?
OA Windsor?
I don't have any, but they are spoken of very well.
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2641
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2021, 03:58:03 AM »

To get the really rugged stuff that's stage worthy, you need to be wiling to drop lost of cash.  What's the usage scenario?
Logged
Brian Jojade

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2021, 08:23:07 AM »

OA Windsor?
I don't have any, but they are spoken of very well.
Chris.

I have 2 stringers from OA Windsor.  They are the best I've ever used (top quality).

Not sure if he does power-strips... I had not considered him for that.  Thanks for the suggestion.


To get the really rugged stuff that's stage worthy, you need to be wiling to drop lost of cash.  What's the usage scenario?

Looking for something more rugged than what is commonly available.  They would be used mostly for outdoor shows where precipitation is anticipated.  The breaker would (hopefully) trip at the power-strip instead of the PDU breaker or load-center breaker (depending on the setup).  Also, they would be used for smaller stage/performance areas where my stringers would be too much; it would be easier and take up less space running an extension cord with a power-strip at the end of it.

Logged

Jason Glass

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 910
    • CleanWirelessAudio.com
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2021, 08:47:56 AM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?

These are used by many of the big audio companies: https://www.motionlabs.com/products/auxiliary-power-distribution/

Mike Monte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 611
    • My website
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2021, 09:25:55 AM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?

Your post peaked my interest so I rummaged through my storage area's "lost and still lost" corner.  (This is the area where I put projects that were started...but never completed - lol.)
Back about 15 years ago I picked up two of these ($5 each) from my local craigslist.  It is a 1RU distro with two sides, each with their own 20amp breaker feeding four edisons.
Both sides came with 20amp locking males.  I swapped-out one side to a 5-20p, tested the unit and put it in the "lost" corner as I never had a need to complete it.
(I had envisioned having a carpenter-friend-of-mine build a tight-little box/rack for it...)
 
Logged

Steve Crump

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 454
Logged

Steve-White

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1204
  • Fort Worth
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2021, 12:34:41 PM »

Along the class of the Tripplite there's also Furman:  https://www.furmanpower.com/compact-power-120v/
Logged

Steve Crump

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 454
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2021, 02:58:27 PM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?


Bob are you looking for filtering/conditioning or just straight through power?
Logged

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2331
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2021, 03:25:27 PM »

Did a search on the forum, but didn't find what I was needing.  There are a lot of posts related to "power strips, but I didn't see anything related to heavy-duty.

Is anyone using actual heavy duty (physical construction) power-strips?  Meaning, the case of the power-strips is metal, or heavy PVC... something that if dropped, it doesn't break, or if stepped on, it doesn't collapse.  I'm looking for something in all black.  Amazon shows "heavy duty" power-strips, but the color on these strips appears to be always yellow.  As well, I can't tell the construction quality looking at pictures.  From the pictures I have seen, I may be looking at quality products (via Amazon or Google), but can't tell from the picture.

I'm needing 15amp/120V (w/breaker if possible).  These would be occasionally used onstage as power sources for bands to plug their gear into.

Anyone using heavy-duty power strips?

No distro up-stream?  If you're in a distro it's already breakered.  You could buy/build quad boxes from there.

I have a couple of these.  Seem heavy duty enough.

Amazon Basics Heavy Duty Metal Surge Protector Power Strip with Mounting Brackets - 12-Outlet, 600-Joule (15A On/Off Circuit Breaker)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SG689YS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_46ZVAD97YR9J9TQ7R0E3?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
« Last Edit: July 04, 2021, 03:30:34 PM by Doug Fowler »
Logged
Brawndo, the Thirst Mutilator. 
It's got electrolytes. 
It's got what plants crave.

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 919
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2021, 04:19:40 PM »

I have 2 stringers from OA Windsor.  They are the best I've ever used (top quality).

Not sure if he does power-strips... I had not considered him for that.  Thanks for the suggestion.

OA Windsor has the 4T box, which has 4 duplexes, all on the same side, but you'd have to add your own breaker.  This one might do the trick: https://us.schurter.com/bundles/snceschurter/epim/_ProdPool_/newDS/en/typ_T9-311.pdf
They're not cheap (none of the OA Windsor stuff is), but if they're like the quads, they're top quality.

Personally, I'm not too keen on having circuit breakers or switches (it's always an "OFF" switch!) on stage boxes because it's something else to break or get tripped by accident.  The line will already be breakered anyway, and if you do overload it, how do you know the one on the stage box will be the one to blow (unless it's rated lower)?

GTD
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3033
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2021, 04:22:56 PM »

I like these splitters, rather than a strip.  No breaker or switch, but accommodates wall warts and short cords.

https://www.cablestogo.com/category/power-cables-supplies/ac-power-cord-splitters

Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2021, 11:06:35 PM »

Thanks for all the replies and suggestions... this has given me other options.

Bob are you thinking about a product similar to this:



https://www.tripplite.com/waber-by-tripp-lite-10-outlet-industrial-power-strip-15-ft-cord-large-plug-spacing~ul800cb15
This looks like it would work well.  Nice to see they have the switch covered. 


No distro up-stream?  If you're in a distro it's already breakered.  You could buy/build quad boxes from there.

I have a couple of these.  Seem heavy duty enough.

Amazon Basics Heavy Duty Metal Surge Protector Power Strip with Mounting Brackets - 12-Outlet, 600-Joule (15A On/Off Circuit Breaker)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SG689YS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_46ZVAD97YR9J9TQ7R0E3?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
I have a Motion Labs rac-pac that everything connects to.  Thanks for the link.

Along the class of the Tripplite there's also Furman:  https://www.furmanpower.com/compact-power-120v/
Thanks.  Had not considered Furman.



Bob are you looking for filtering/conditioning or just straight through power?

Looking for straight through power.  Most of the performers/band members I work with have been using their own conditioning devices.





« Last Edit: July 04, 2021, 11:26:34 PM by Bob Faulkner »
Logged

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2021, 11:09:47 PM »

I like these splitters, rather than a strip.  No breaker or switch, but accommodates wall warts and short cords.

https://www.cablestogo.com/category/power-cables-supplies/ac-power-cord-splitters


I use some of these (not exactly the type shown).  They've been great.  Thanks for the link.
Logged

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2021, 11:22:10 PM »

OA Windsor has the 4T box, which has 4 duplexes, all on the same side, but you'd have to add your own breaker.  This one might do the trick: https://us.schurter.com/bundles/snceschurter/epim/_ProdPool_/newDS/en/typ_T9-311.pdf
They're not cheap (none of the OA Windsor stuff is), but if they're like the quads, they're top quality.

Personally, I'm not too keen on having circuit breakers or switches (it's always an "OFF" switch!) on stage boxes because it's something else to break or get tripped by accident.  The line will already be breakered anyway, and if you do overload it, how do you know the one on the stage box will be the one to blow (unless it's rated lower)?

GTD

The breakers would be for the band instrument circuit(s) only.  The monitors and FOH PA are on their own circuits (protected by breakers on the MotionLabs).
Logged

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2021, 09:49:16 PM »

Thanks again for all the feedback and suggestions. 

I'm going with Tripp-Lite power-strips (breaker only, no on/off switches).  These will be used to "extend" the stringers deeper into the stage area (while keeping the stringers themselves around the up/down stage areas).  We seem to have a few shows a year (on deeper stages) where the performers extension cords (for their gear) doesn't quite reach the stringer locations; the power-strips should fix it. 

Thanks.
Logged

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3293
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2021, 11:08:09 AM »

Bob are you thinking about a product similar to this:



https://www.tripplite.com/waber-by-tripp-lite-10-outlet-industrial-power-strip-15-ft-cord-large-plug-spacing~ul800cb15

These are the ones I'v been buying. NO SWITCH! and 5 outlets in a metal case. Does have a circuit breaker.

They make them in several configs, but this is the only one with NO SWITCH.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

John L Nobile

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2508
Logged

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2021, 06:01:04 PM »

Yep.

Ended up getting a few of the "602" model from TrippLite - NO SWITCHES; breaker only.

Logged

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3293
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2021, 06:28:25 PM »

These are the ones I'v been buying. NO SWITCH! and 5 outlets in a metal case. Does have a circuit breaker.

They make them in several configs, but this is the only one with NO SWITCH.

I'm an idiot and forgot the lonk, but yeah. It's the 602. Nothing but success with these for me. They also make them with a 15ft cord if you need that. 

https://www.tripplite.com/waber-by-tripp-lite-5-outlet-industrial-power-strip-6-ft-cord-switchless~602
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Helge A Bentsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1532
  • Oslo, Norway.
Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2021, 05:48:43 AM »

I love these.
You get them from several manufacturers.
I've seen US versions as well online.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Heavy duty power-strips (w/circuit-breakers)??
« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2021, 05:48:43 AM »


Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.088 seconds with 22 queries.