ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: 70 volt system - what am I doing wrong?  (Read 3421 times)

Brad Worrell

• http://soundwag.com
70 volt system - what am I doing wrong?
« on: June 26, 2021, 11:14:53 PM »

I'm new to 70 volt systems but I know how do to math but this one has me stumped. I've installed a 4 speaker system of JBL Control 25-1's tapped to ask for 105 watts, powered by a 120 watt JBL CSA 1120Z; 16 gauge install cable with the longest run being around 70'.

The amp runs for maybe 45 seconds to a minute then shuts off. It's hard to tell but sounds like the fidelity may not be the highest during that time either.

I've tried a backup of the exact same amp, removed the volume control, tried it in 8 ohms via series/parrallel wiring and tried with just two speakers hooked up (70 volt), all to no avail. I disconnected the speakers and checked for continuity between the two wires to see if there was a short, but no. A digital multimeter shows me 4.9 ohms of resistance at the beginning of the line.

Mike Caldwell

• Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: 70 volt system - what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2021, 11:58:19 PM »

Check the wiring connections at the volume control, actually bypass it and test the system.

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2021, 02:05:26 AM »

The first thing I'd do is test the speakers one at a time connected directly to the amp.  If you have one shorted speaker, you'll quickly be able to find out which one is causing the problem.  If they all work individually, then wire up all 4, again right next to the amp and see if the test passes.  If it does, then that tells you there's an issue in the wiring.  Start putting them back in place one at a time until it fails.
Brian Jojade

Milt Hathaway

• http://www.fitzcosound.com