ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Outdoor Sub placement  (Read 924 times)

Garry Wilson

• Laurel, MD
    • 98.6 Sound
Re: Outdoor Sub placement
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2021, 07:11:18 pm »

I think TV was referring to the array of subs.

Yes, I know. Dave, sorry about adding confusion. I was trying to get the client to pony up for a Line Array for the mains, that didn't happen :(
Garry W.
CTS, SBE-CEV, A+
www.986sound.com

Garry Wilson

• Laurel, MD
    • 98.6 Sound
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2021, 06:17:01 am »

I've been doing an outdoor gig for a few years now using (6) JBL SRX718s. This is what the budget allows, previously it was 4. Also, when I initially went to 6 subs, I had 3 per side, then changed to option A, it seemed to work out better.

I'm considering changing the placement. Currently, it's two placed vertically per side and two in the middle side by side. I've attached a document.

Your thoughts please on the A, B C options. I using option A now.

Garry

Thanks for the tips. I'll probably go with option C

Garry
Garry W.
CTS, SBE-CEV, A+
www.986sound.com

Tim Verhoeven

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2021, 07:11:11 am »

Thanks for the tips. I'll probably go with option C

Nice! But also follow Caleb's idea of using prediction software to simulate the exact environment and setup you want. This will give you a better insights in what the best approach for your specific setup it.

I don't know if it is the case for JBL, but most higher tier vendors have such software freely available. If not EASE is always an option if JBL provides GLL files.

Russell Ault

• Edmonton, AB
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2021, 02:23:24 pm »

Nice! But also follow Caleb's idea of using prediction software to simulate the exact environment and setup you want. This will give you a better insights in what the best approach for your specific setup it.