ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: I-Tech 6K replacement  (Read 1049 times)

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 664
I-Tech 6K replacement
« on: June 09, 2021, 11:05:38 PM »

I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)
Logged

Steve Litcher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
    • MixMasters Podcast
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2021, 01:37:53 AM »

Have you looked into the QSC PL380? They’re pretty stout; we had a bunch of them when we ran passive JTR subs and were really impressed by them. Check with Mike Pyle for better pricing.

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1712
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2021, 01:59:03 AM »

Powersoft T602 springs to mind. 1U, great DSP & control, 2500w/ch into 4ohm.

Oh, and you can directly limit the amp's mains current draw.

Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Benjamin Krumholz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2021, 07:34:18 AM »

I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?


You can find great deals on used Itech HD amps and 4 x 3500HD amps online currently.. You should be able to find an IT5000HD or IT9000HD for less than 2k.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/362500951611?epid=9012065003&hash=item5466bd8e3b:g:kBMAAOSw3s9fjcQg
 
Logged

John Halliburton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 822
  • White pointy beard, knows zip...about chicken.
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2021, 09:15:40 AM »

I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)

I've been very happy with my QSC PLD4.5 amps. Four channel, yet configurable to 1, 2, or 3, built in DSP, lightweight.

Best regards,

John
Logged

Matt Vivlamore

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 472
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2021, 09:26:39 AM »

I'd replace the original IT's with some Lab Gruppen PLMs or Crown Itech-HDs.
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1847
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2021, 10:06:30 AM »

I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps
What are modern comparable amps that aren't I-Nukes and aren't unobtanium priced?

(I-Tech 6 K is 3000/w/ch into 4 ohms and has DSP built in - 2 rack spaces)

While I don't use 3kw/ch because that would blow breakers, the amps do make subs grunt really nicely compared to some other amps I've tried
(and for whatever reason, the 6K's have been a lot more trouble free than my older I-Tech 4K's were)

I will be plugging into edison outlets, often GFI protected  (I-Techs and GFI's hate each other for some reason)

Steve,
What speakers will these amps be powering?   
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Helge A Bentsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1302
  • Oslo, Norway.
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2021, 10:10:42 AM »

How many channels do you need and what  kind of DSP?

Powersoft X or T-series would be on the top of my list. Great DSP and flexibility.
Lab PLM if I wanted Lake Processing.

Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6484
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2021, 04:44:45 PM »

Powersoft T602 springs to mind. 1U, great DSP & control, 2500w/ch into 4ohm.

Oh, and you can directly limit the amp's mains current draw.

Chris


The nice thing about the Powersoft is the wideband supply.  You can use the same rack, PDU and amplifier.  If you are constrained by the mains have a configuration that would work properly on a 15amp 120v circuit (in the US). 


My next rack is going to have three amps, two for the subs and one for mains.  I will put three edison inlets for venues with only 120v service and the appropriate twist lock for a 30amp 208-240v feed.  The distro will have a switch to transfer the inlet and the amps will auto range.  That's why I have my eye on the Powersoft.  They seem ideal for this config.



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Steve Crump

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 400
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2021, 08:09:50 PM »

+1 on the Powersoft T Series
Logged

Mike Monte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 545
    • My website
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement?
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2021, 08:36:05 AM »

I'm thinking of replacing my I-Tech 6K amps with newer amps

Of the Itechs that I own, two are IT6000's (original run).
Way back when the ribbon issue was realized I sent both of them back to Crown (on warranty) and they swapped-out the ribbon cables/front panels.
They have been bullet-proof ever since.

I am curious as to why you are considering replacing your current Itechs....are they barking or are you just updating gear??
 
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2172
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2021, 01:32:56 PM »

I've been very happy with my QSC PLD4.5 amps. Four channel, yet configurable to 1, 2, or 3, built in DSP, lightweight.

Best regards,

John

I WAS happy with my PLD4.5s.  However, on more than one occasion, the amps would just for no apparent reason decide to not pass audio at a show, even though they did just fine the day before with no changes whatsoever.  And every single time I had an issue, I brought the amps back to the shop to test and could never repeat the problem.  Now I've got one sitting on the floor next to my desk that I get angry looking at every single day.  I'm scared to take it back on the road not knowing if it's going to be fine, or have a fit on me.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Rick Powell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 867
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2021, 02:31:24 AM »

Have you looked into the QSC PL380? They’re pretty stout; we had a bunch of them when we ran passive JTR subs and were really impressed by them. Check with Mike Pyle for better pricing.

To me, the PL380, although a great amp, would be a sideways move. Plus losing the good DSP processing of the ITech if you need it. I still power my Danleys with an ITech 6000 and it just works and works, over 10 years and running and who knows how old it was when I got it. If it ever started acting up where I questioned its reliability, I might consider the Powersoft T-series or Danley's DNA re-badged Linea series.
Logged

Helge A Bentsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1302
  • Oslo, Norway.
Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2021, 09:07:25 AM »

Powersoft just announced two new models in the T-series, T902 & T-904.
Talked to our distributor, price/performance looks very good.

https://tinyurl.com/9y5pmk69
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: I-Tech 6K replacement
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2021, 09:07:25 AM »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.293 seconds with 23 queries.