ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 900MHz Band IEM Combining  (Read 938 times)

Craig Swoverland

900MHz Band IEM Combining
« on: May 21, 2021, 01:26:15 PM »

Hello. New member. New to Wireless IEM. I am not an expert, and I am looking for guidance. :)

I have 3 units VocoPro (IEM-Digital) that operate on the 900MHz band. These units are simply installed in the rack with our mixer (XR18) and an amp for our subs, and we're utilizing the built-in antennae on each unit. In our rehearsal space, the units seem to be working well, however, we have had *some* dropouts. My research (which includes quite a bit of content from this forum and other places) leads me to believe that we could better our setup by adding a combiner and using a single antenna.

With regards to combiners, I understand that Shure, Sennheiser, RF Venue make products for this purpose, however, they are pricey and may or may not support the 900Mhz band. I am a tech dude by trade, so I have an uncontrollable urge to research and find out if I can "do it cheaper".

Without considering cables and connectors (which I assume I can plan to move from BNC to COAX to N or SMA etc) I have identified some solutions for passive combining on the 900Mhz band, and I am looking for your good guidance on whether my analysis is on point, or if I am completely misguided. My proposed solution is:

Combiner: Ebay has several used PASSIVE combiners for sale which seem to support the 900 band. Is passive OK for an IEM application?
Example: https://www.anixter.com/en_la/product-detail.OC-8D-BLONDER-TONGUE.169871.html

With regards to antenna, I have seen wideband and focused 900Mhz antennae for sale.  I do not understand everything about this market segment either. I have found this: