ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thoughts on Bill Fitz Maurice sub placement recommendations?  (Read 1600 times)

Douglas Cyr

Hello everyone!

I found this article pretty interesting and wonder if the professionals here have any thoughts:

https://billfitzmaurice.info/forum/viewtopic.php?t=398

BFM mentions some methods for maximizing subwoofer sensitivity indoors and outdoors. It's my first time ever seeing most of these techniques, and I'm curious as to their effectiveness - especially the techniques he mentions for increasing sensitivity outdoors where there are no boundaries. Would these techniques be genuinely useful? Especially for bass reflex boxes vs horns. Would there be much increase in sensitivity compared to just placing boxes next to each other firing forwards? Will this just give you a funny looking setup?

Notably:
-The "V" coupling plate
-Tilting the sub down towards the ground at a 30* angle

Note: I don't have any of the BFM subs.

Thanks for any information,
Doug

Tim Weaver

• College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Thoughts on Bill Fitz Maurice sub placement recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2021, 07:42:21 PM »

Some bit of old timer's tricks and lots of snake oil salesman.

You'll find that BFM subs are not well respected here, or really, anywhere outside of the BFM forum. There are no real measurements, and there is no one using them for real shows.