ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?  (Read 1109 times)

Kevin Maxwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1480
Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« on: April 29, 2021, 09:52:17 am »

What digital mixers have increased their channel count capabilities with firmware alone? I am not referring to the hardware necessary to add more preamps. The one I am aware of is the Avid SC48 it went from 48 channels to 64 channels with just a firmware update. Are there any other ones that come to mind? 
Logged

Brian Bolly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 565
  • Homeward Bound
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2021, 09:59:17 am »

What digital mixers have increased their channel count capabilities with firmware alone? I am not referring to the hardware necessary to add more preamps. The one I am aware of is the Avid SC48 it went from 48 channels to 64 channels with just a firmware update. Are there any other ones that come to mind?

Digico SD series.  The major one was the Core 1 to Core 2 jump, but there have been others (SD12 to SD12-96 for example).  And it wasn't just input channels, it was also Matrix size, aux/bus count, channel processing capabilities, number of FX slots, and control group counts.
Logged

Kevin Maxwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1480
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2021, 10:28:16 am »

Digico SD series.  The major one was the Core 1 to Core 2 jump, but there have been others (SD12 to SD12-96 for example).  And it wasn't just input channels, it was also Matrix size, aux/bus count, channel processing capabilities, number of FX slots, and control group counts.

No hardware involved in that move from the Core 1 to the Core 2?
Logged

Miguel Dahl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 492
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2021, 10:47:36 am »

No hardware involved in that move from the Core 1 to the Core 2?

It's only software upgrade, no hardware upgrade. But the Core2 upgrade is not free, or cheap.
Logged

Chip Sciacca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2021, 10:47:42 am »

Hi Kevin
 no hardware changes needed to upgrade the DiGiCos from Core1 to Core 2.  The original SD9 shipped as a 48 x 16 console with 8 dynamic EQs, 8 Multiband Compressors and 8 Tube emulators and 8 FX and now through only software updates it is currently a 96 x 48 with 155 DYN Eqs, 155 Multiband Comps, 155 Tube emulators and 12 FX units making the return on investment great for the purchaser.



No hardware involved in that move from the Core 1 to the Core 2?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2021, 10:51:27 am by Chip Sciacca »
Logged
Tech Support Engineer
Group One Ltd.
DiGiCo USA
Klang USA

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1112
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2021, 11:04:13 am »

It's only software upgrade, no hardware upgrade. But the Core2 upgrade is not free, or cheap.

Id argue that considering the value added its quite cheap compared to the alternative of buying a larger desk.  The SD8 going from 60 to 120 channels was huge and well worth the cost.
Logged

Miguel Dahl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 492
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2021, 01:26:38 pm »

Id argue that considering the value added its quite cheap compared to the alternative of buying a larger desk.  The SD8 going from 60 to 120 channels was huge and well worth the cost.

I agree, so we don't need to argue :) I just didn't edit my post to clarify after I posted, your answer was sort of awaited. My reference for what I said was a "normal" FW/version upgrade of any kind, which most often are free.
Logged

Keith Erickson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2021, 03:49:37 pm »

What digital mixers have increased their channel count capabilities with firmware alone? I am not referring to the hardware necessary to add more preamps. The one I am aware of is the Avid SC48 it went from 48 channels to 64 channels with just a firmware update. Are there any other ones that come to mind?

Soundcraft Si Impact went from 32+4 stereo to 64+8 stereo with the V2 update...free of charge.  32x16 on the back and 2 card slots (64x64 & 64x32) for stage boxes or other I/O

Lots of desk for around $2500 MAP
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1835
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2021, 06:47:30 pm »

Related but I understand this is not an answer the original question...

I much prefer console designs that use a DSP with full capabilities and then you can choose the size of control console you like. (dLive, Rivage), rather than having to live with the console size you picked based on channel count.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Frederik Rosenkjr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 478
Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2021, 03:04:45 am »

The Yamaha Rivage PM7 went from 120 to 144 channels in december with firmware 4.7
Logged
Affiliations: Danley Sound Labs, Yamaha (MI)

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Digital mixers firmware increased channel count?
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2021, 03:04:45 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.018 seconds with 18 queries.