ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: EtherCon for Cat6 cable  (Read 739 times)

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1851
    • Check Check One Two
EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« on: February 14, 2021, 05:27:39 PM »

Remind me - which EtherCons are the ones to buy for CAT6?
I remember someone saying that there was one model to avoid because they didn't mate with other "standard" (Cat5e?) EtherCons?
And which are the ones that can be installed on a cable that already has an RJ45 installed (has a split boot or some such)
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1851
    • Check Check One Two
Re: EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2021, 07:02:10 PM »

Is the NE8MX-B ok for CAT6? (Not CAT6a)
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Brian Bolly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 574
  • Homeward Bound
Re: EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2021, 08:58:07 AM »

Quote from: Andrew Broughton
I remember someone saying that there was one model to avoid because they didn't mate with other "standard" (Cat5e?) EtherCons?

Correct.  The Neutrik CAT6 version (NE8MC6-MO) will only mate with the corresponding NE8FDY-C6 panel mount connector - not with Ethercon CAT5E or Ethercon CAT6A chassis connectors.

Is the NE8MX-B ok for CAT6? (Not CAT6a)

Since that connector is for CAT6A cable/spec, it should work just fine for CAT6 as it is not a stringent a spec.  But there is a note about insulation diameter of the cable on the product page that may apply to you (or not).
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1851
    • Check Check One Two
Re: EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2021, 10:55:22 AM »

Thanks, Brian!
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

James Cotton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2021, 06:53:21 PM »

Since that connector is for CAT6A cable/spec, it should work just fine for CAT6 as it is not a stringent a spec.  But there is a note about insulation diameter of the cable on the product page that may apply to you (or not).

I've use those for CAT5e too and they work fine but you definitely need to be careful of insulation diameter, had to reterminate several as they failed test immediately after being crimped and I'm sure this was down to the cores being too small. Cores should be >1.1mm diameter for these.
There is a version for smaller gauge cores (NE8MX6-T) but my Neutrik supplier doesn't list them so I've not tried them.
I'd check the diameter of your cable cores and order the correct ones.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: EtherCon for Cat6 cable
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2021, 06:53:21 PM »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 20 queries.