ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Video Streaming Novice | From Camera to Live Streaming | What am I missing?  (Read 4717 times)

Daniel Krueger

Hello again everyone! I was one of many sound techs that were tasked with getting live streams set up for their church amidst COVID. I received lots of good advice from this forum when we were experiencing horrible sound issues and now we have crisp, clean, and beautiful audio from the changes that we made based on those suggestions.

So here's my next dilemma (that's a bit dramatic).

I am a camera/video novice

Our Gear
We have two cameras at the moment and one input from our Powerpoint computer.
Both cameras can output 1080p via Mini-HDMI to HDMI. (I can get you the camera models if that helps, they are simple camcorders).

We use HDMI-USB converters to connect to our PC (Intel Core i7-10700 CPU @ 2.9GHz, Geforce 1650 - I think).
Our budget didn't allow for the top-of-the-line models so two of these are the "next best thing/budget" and another one is a "super budget" option that actually does better than the other two for whatever reason. (Note: I think this may be my problem but I have no idea).

Our live streaming software of choice is VMix.
Which has been setup in every way I can tell, to take inputs of 1080p and output in every way 1080p.

---------------------------

Our Issue

From Camera to VMix
As I said before, I believe everything is setup to input and output 1080p, but the input views clearly look sub-1080p. I have not figured out any option in the software to adjust it anymore. It is also quite grainy which can be helped by making sure there's more light (but we can only do so much).

From VMix to Facebook