ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Wireless DMX on a budget in 2021 - Blizzard or Donner or ?  (Read 4107 times)

Scott Hofmann

Re: Wireless DMX on a budget in 2021 - Blizzard or Donner or ?
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2021, 12:34:49 PM »

The Donner stuff works great.  I've got even cheaper Wosung knockoffs that I've been using for about 5 years that haven't let me down.  I'm pretty sure they are all the same thing, just with a different brand label on them.

The only thing I kinda hate about them is they are long connectors, and the power connection can be a bit of a hassle.  I have found just the PCB module available for dirt cheap. I've considered picking a few of those up and doing internal wireless modules in a few fixtures to eliminate the added external connections.  Haven't gotten that far yet though.

RE the length of the Donner units, several years ago I ran into a situation where I had very little clearance behind the fixture so I made up a right angle XLR to put the Donner vertical instead of horizontal. I know you can buy a Neutrik right angle male to female 3-pin XLR but it seems to be incredibly expensive, so I made one using a NC3FRX right angle female
which has an internal threaded end for the chuck and a regular NC3MX which has an external threaded end. The NC3FRX keeps the Donner very close to the back of the fixture.
The pictures show the implementation however I only had the REVERSE OF THE CORRECT PARTS available so just pretend the black right angle male connector is the female fixture end!

« Last Edit: January 09, 2021, 01:13:49 PM by Scott Hofmann »
Scott Hofmann

Joel T. Glaser

« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2021, 11:24:18 AM »