ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)  (Read 2327 times)

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1690
The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« on: December 15, 2020, 10:34:58 PM »

Spent an entertaining and informative couple of hours on a Facebook stream last night watching Andrew Broughton demo his remarkably slick new way to control a Yamaha CL/QL console from any other CL/QL anywhere in the world. If you haven't seen this it is a pretty interesting way to spend some time . Not sure how to see out without being a facebook droid, might have to ask Andrew.

https://fb.watch/2pec99BeCg/

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2099
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2020, 11:53:22 PM »

Nice.

I still can't believe this isn't a more commonly available feature on consoles.  We already have the ability to use a computer to control a device.  All that is needed is a 'slave' mode that lets a console mirror another.  It doesn't seem like it should be a difficult process.

It would open up the opportunity to have a console FOH on a WIFI connection and keep all of the audio on the stage. (yes, wired is better than WIFI, but the OPTION would be great) Having the audio ALL stay at the stage console instead of FOH would eliminate a point of failure in the chain as well.

Ah, one can dream.
Logged
Brian Jojade

MikeHarris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 472
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2020, 01:49:00 AM »

some years ago we did a completely networked system for a Dutch company doing a dueling pianos theme restaurant in Coconut Grove with a Yamaha console mixed in real time by a engineer in Holland. Monitors too ! 
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1857
    • Check Check One Two
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2020, 04:01:19 PM »

Spent an entertaining and informative couple of hours on a Facebook stream last night watching Andrew Broughton demo his remarkably slick new way to control a Yamaha CL/QL console from any other CL/QL anywhere in the world. If you haven't seen this it is a pretty interesting way to spend some time . Not sure how to see out without being a facebook droid, might have to ask Andrew.

https://fb.watch/2pec99BeCg/
You can see it without signing into FB.
(Your and Jasonís cheques are in the mail...)
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Don T. Williams

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 920
  • Midas Pro 1 & 2, M32, dbTech T12, T8, S30, DM12
    • Q Systems Music & Sound
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2020, 05:59:02 PM »

Mixing from Holland?  Who'da thunk it!
Logged

Miguel Dahl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 503
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2020, 03:04:27 PM »

This is fantastic.

I just watched the whole thing. However. Am I correct that the screens from the remote console didn't pop up on the local console? For instance. Remote operator opens up EQ window. Did this screen not pop up on the local console, or was this a filter-option? A question related to the "remote instructor-learning" aspect/possibility of the software.
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2695
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2020, 12:32:05 PM »

This is fantastic.

I just watched the whole thing. However. Am I correct that the screens from the remote console didn't pop up on the local console? For instance. Remote operator opens up EQ window. Did this screen not pop up on the local console, or was this a filter-option? A question related to the "remote instructor-learning" aspect/possibility of the software.

This is correct. Screen changes on the local console do not change the screen on the remote console and vis versa. This is because screen changes do not generate messages that are sent outside the console. This is true whether you are changing screens with touch screen buttons, or if you're using UDKs to do the same thing.

This falls squarely under the "it's both a bug AND a feature" category. For remote training you'd probably rather have your local screen change the remote screen as well so that your student is seeing exactly what you are doing without needing to do any input on their own. But if you're doing a "two people controlling one console" thing, then this is exactly what you want so that both people can work independently on their own control screen.

I intend to use this tool for training and will likely just include in my workflow ways to have my students push the correct buttons to ensure that they are on the same screen as me and therefore creating muscle memory [as well as making sure they're tracking with me]. I may even just use custom UDK layers so I can just say "push UDK 7 and you should see" whatever I want them to see.

Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2919
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2020, 02:06:51 PM »

This is correct. Screen changes on the local console do not change the screen on the remote console and vis versa. This is because screen changes do not generate messages that are sent outside the console. This is true whether you are changing screens with touch screen buttons, or if you're using UDKs to do the same thing.

This falls squarely under the "it's both a bug AND a feature" category. For remote training you'd probably rather have your local screen change the remote screen as well so that your student is seeing exactly what you are doing without needing to do any input on their own. But if you're doing a "two people controlling one console" thing, then this is exactly what you want so that both people can work independently on their own control screen.

I intend to use this tool for training and will likely just include in my workflow ways to have my students push the correct buttons to ensure that they are on the same screen as me and therefore creating muscle memory [as well as making sure they're tracking with me]. I may even just use custom UDK layers so I can just say "push UDK 7 and you should see" whatever I want them to see.


*I am not a programmer*

Are you "spoofing" the data that would normally travel between the editor and the console? If so the editor has a tick box to change screens or not on the console it's connected to.

I completely admit that I'm a neophyte and this may not be how you are doing it.



Also, I watched the webcast again yesterday. This stuff is very impressive. On my campus I have 3 CL5's and a CL1. I can already see some use for this. Remote mixing in other rooms for sensitive subjects. We have a post-abortion group and a victims of sex crimes group that might be more comfortable if I'm not in the room.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1857
    • Check Check One Two
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2020, 12:23:51 PM »


*I am not a programmer*

Are you "spoofing" the data that would normally travel between the editor and the console? If so the editor has a tick box to change screens or not on the console it's connected to.

I completely admit that I'm a neophyte and this may not be how you are doing it.



Also, I watched the webcast again yesterday. This stuff is very impressive. On my campus I have 3 CL5's and a CL1. I can already see some use for this. Remote mixing in other rooms for sensitive subjects. We have a post-abortion group and a victims of sex crimes group that might be more comfortable if I'm not in the room.

The Editor has specific "change to this screen" commands, and I just realized that you can probably set up UDKs to change screens on the remote console if desired.

Contact me at my website if you'd like to learn more, Tim!
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1817
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2020, 10:10:48 PM »

I haven't watched the whole thing...yet (it's playing in the background as a type)...but can anyone confirm if this is the first true way to have a completely redundant QL/CL system? I could see applications for this with two consoles sitting in immediate proximity of each other (with shared inputs via analog split or dante) simply acting as a primary and backup.
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: The new world you didn't know was coming ( Yamaha consoles only)
¬ę Reply #9 on: December 31, 2020, 10:10:48 PM ¬Ľ


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 26 queries.