ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Preferred Method for Wiring Junctions  (Read 8123 times)

Jeff Bankston

Re: Preferred Method for Wiring Junctions
« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2020, 08:07:45 PM »

Ideal Wing Nuts and Ilscos

Steve M Smith

• Isle of Wight - England
« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2020, 03:17:12 AM »

I've learned as I researched this that apparently wire nuts aren't permissible in other parts of the world.  Interesting to say the least!
Probably because most of the rest of the world runs at 220-240 volts rather than 110 volts.

Steve.

Jeff Bankston

« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2020, 04:21:41 AM »

Probably because most of the rest of the world runs at 220-240 volts rather than 110 volts.

Steve.
Wire nuts in the USA are good for up to 600VAC. I am a retired commercial electrician. We used them on 277 volt lighting legs. I dont like push on connectors. I have opened J-boxes and found wires had somehow popped out of push ons.

Stephen Swaffer

« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2020, 12:22:52 PM »

The pictured WAGo connectors are not push on's-they are actually a lever/cam lock.  I have seen them used in higher end lighting fixtures-very nice to work with and the electrical connection is always under spring tension-meeting the code requirement for a "pressure connector"-which is essentially what wire nuts are as well.  I like the fact that since there is one wire per hole yo are less likely to have a wire slip out of the connection-especially if using more than 2 or 3 wires.
Steve Swaffer

Bob Faulkner

• Raleigh, NC
« Reply #24 on: October 08, 2020, 12:31:43 PM »

Per UL 1059 Standard for Terminal Blocks, they are rated at 600V and 20A.