ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: x32 USB recorder quality issues  (Read 1592 times)

Landon Lewsaw

x32 USB recorder quality issues
« on: September 30, 2020, 08:38:02 PM »

Much like the real bands, my little rock cover band was restricted to online recording collaborations through the lockdown.  Lots of fun figuring it all out, had some real successes.  As a live sound guy, I wanted to mix on my x32 rather than in the box, which I'm not experienced or skilled at.  I used the computer only to record and edit (in Reaper) and then shipped everything out to the x32 to process and mix.  Sounds great on the monitors or in the cans, but the file that writes to the USB drive doesn't seem to have the same resolution, level or quality. 

I'm sure when I eventually give in and do everything in the box the render will be better, but just wondering if anyone else finds the quality of the USB recording to be somewhat diminished.

Russell Ault

• Edmonton, AB
Re: x32 USB recorder quality issues
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2020, 12:59:48 AM »

[...] Sounds great on the monitors or in the cans, but the file that writes to the USB drive doesn't seem to have the same resolution, level or quality.  [...]

Just to be clear, the USB recorder doesn't have the same resolution or quality as the monitors or the cans.

Internally, the console uses floating-point math for all its operations. When that data needs to leave the console, whether through a D/A, AES50, or the card slot, it always does so as 24 bit (signed) integers...except for the USB recorder, which is 16 bit instead.