ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Unused rigs -  (Read 1163 times)

Mike Monte

• My website
Unused rigs -
« on: September 15, 2020, 09:31:58 am »

As of yesterday the last of my big outdoor sound gigs (big for me, that is) has officially been cancelled for this year due to Covid.

Due to the current cancellation of festivals/gigs I have some racks/stacks that will not be used this year.....

With that being said, is it ok for me to leave the gear in storage (nothing stored directly on the floor - all cabs/racks are on blocks, 2x4's, etc. to allow for air flow thus no moisture issues) and not run it for a whole year
or
should I fire-up each rig for an afternoon with some music playing....?

I do remember that my middle school's Music Dept (I am a retired teacher) received a donated Peavey PA (Peavey speakers plus a CS800 power amp) that had not been used for 25 years...  I cobbled it together and it actually worked as we used it as a monitor system for a kids' musical.

This time of year (end of summer) I usually remove my amps from their racks and blow-them-out before winter storage.....no need to do it this year :(

Art Welter

Re: Unused rigs -
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2020, 10:24:16 am »

With that being said, is it ok for me to leave the gear in storage (nothing stored directly on the floor - all cabs/racks are on blocks, 2x4's, etc. to allow for air flow thus no moisture issues) and not run it for a whole year
or
Store it until needed, firing it up won't make it last longer or reduce Covid 19 effects  :(

Erik Jerde

• Classic LAB
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2020, 10:58:33 am »

As of yesterday the last of my big outdoor sound gigs (big for me, that is) has officially been cancelled for this year due to Covid.

Due to the current cancellation of festivals/gigs I have some racks/stacks that will not be used this year.....

or