Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Installed Sound/Contracting

Sonance ps-s53t vs. JBL control 25-1 vs. EV EVID s5.2t

(1/2) > >>

Scott Riebling:
Hi all, I was a recording engineer/studio owner for over 30 years, but with the slow down of record labels and so many changes in the music business I have moved on to owning a restaurant.   I am installing a 70 volt system, and during these times of Covid I am leery of auditioning speakers due to my situation at home (if I could even find someplace that had all three to demo near Boston). 

There will be no live music or paging, just pre recorded music played through the system, but its really important to me that the music sounds as good as I can possibly get it for the budget.  I will be working on sound deadening do help the acoustics within the space.  I dont expect the volume to need to go very high since we have fairly early closing hours and we are less of a bar and more of a sit down restaurant.   Gut pumping bass is not required, just a full clear sound and I have made sure to have proper coverage with a good amount of speakers considering the size of the room.

Im wondering if anyone here has been able to hear any of these speakers side by side.  I haven't decided yet if I will be adding a few subs indoors, but for now I am planning on 17 surface mount speakers to fill my dining room and slightly protected outdoor dining area.  The JBL Control 25 and the EV evid s5.2t appear to be about the same price.  I dont mind spending a little extra for the Sonance ps-s53t if it is a jump up in sound quality over the other two. 

If there is a speaker I should know about that someone likes the sound of better than these three I am all ears as long as it is in the same price range (between 150-200 each).  Thank you all so much for your time!!!

Mac Kerr: