ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pro Sound Amps & Subs  (Read 2118 times)

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« on: July 08, 2020, 12:24:35 am »

Hi, if I run 2x Pro Sound 1600 watt Amps on bridge at 4ohms & run 2x 1000w 18" Subs on each channel would that be okay or will I have to add something else like 2x 15" 1000w bridge to 500w as 1200w is way to much headroom???
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 01:46:55 am by Iyah Kush »
Logged

MikeHarris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 434
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2020, 01:31:33 am »

rules state real name required...thread soon locked till you correct please
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2020, 01:44:23 am »

rules state real name required...thread soon locked till you correct please
Np
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 01:47:22 am by Iyah Kush »
Logged

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1557
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2020, 02:32:37 am »

Hi, if I run 2x Pro Sound 1600 watt Amps on bridge at 4ohms & run 2x 1000w 18" Subs on each channel would that be okay or will I have to add something else like 2x 15" 1000w bridge to 500w as 1200w is way to much headroom???

Iyah, you're going to need to be tremendously more specific with this if you want any meaningful help.  What you're saying makes no sense by itself.  I don't mean to be blunt, but I don't know how else to say that!
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21750
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2020, 03:10:55 am »

Hi, if I run 2x Pro Sound 1600 watt Amps on bridge at 4ohms & run 2x 1000w 18" Subs on each channel would that be okay or will I have to add something else like 2x 15" 1000w bridge to 500w as 1200w is way to much headroom???

For the moment I'll presume that Iyah Kush is your real name...

The first red flag - you can't use "each channel" when an amplifier is in bridged mode.  Generally, in bridged mode the Channel 1 + output and the Channel 2 + output connect to the loudspeaker.  The rest of your question I'm not sure I understand.

What is your application?  DJ/EDM?  Live music (bands, etc)?
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3378
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2020, 03:38:51 am »


An ideal match is having about 1.5 x more RMS power than the speaker power handling.
However, those Pro Sound 1600 amps are more like 400 watt RMS. I wouldn't be happy using one in bridge mode (or at all actually!).


Steve.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 03:41:19 am by Steve M Smith »
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2020, 03:49:02 am »

For the moment I'll presume that Iyah Kush is your real name...

The first red flag - you can't use "each channel" when an amplifier is in bridged mode.  Generally, in bridged mode the Channel 1 + output and the Channel 2 + output connect to the loudspeaker.  The rest of your question I'm not sure I understand.

What is your application?  DJ/EDM?  Live music (bands, etc)?

Ok, I see this is a forum where people who know more than others like to smack talk  ;D, I'm grown & can handle it. Yes Tim that's my name, shouldn't be a problem. Anyway, are you saying you can not bridge two 1600w amps to make 3200w  & run them as Mono (Left/Right)??? Pls & tnx.
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2020, 03:54:06 am »

An ideal match is having about 1.5 x more RMS power than the speaker power handling.
However, those Pro Sound 1600 amps are more like 400 watt RMS. I wouldn't be happy using one in bridge mode (or at all actually!).


Steve.

Thank you Steve, I thought someone would make that comment about the Pro Sound Amps, just need some clarification. I've seen someone mention about having 1.5 RMS but much how roughly is that when you are running two 18" 1000w subs?  Tnx again.
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2020, 03:55:49 am »

Iyah, you're going to need to be tremendously more specific with this if you want any meaningful help.  What you're saying makes no sense by itself.  I don't mean to be blunt, but I don't know how else to say that!

It's ok Jeff.  :D ;)8)
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3378
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2020, 07:29:23 am »

I've seen someone mention about having 1.5 RMS but much how roughly is that when you are running two 18" 1000w subs?  Tnx again.


Here is a very good source of information from Crown Amplification.  Much better than me trying to put it into words...




https://www.crownaudio.com/how-much-amplifier-power




Steve.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21750
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2020, 11:46:13 am »

Ok, I see this is a forum where people who know more than others like to smack talk  ;D, I'm grown & can handle it. Yes Tim that's my name, shouldn't be a problem. Anyway, are you saying you can not bridge two 1600w amps to make 3200w  & run them as Mono (Left/Right)??? Pls & tnx.
No, this is a forum were real first and last names are required.  Yours is just different enough that it raised a question of authenticity (attempts at gaming the forum's real name policy happen routinely).  I'm sure you're mature enough to handle that, eh?

Your question was not clear as to your intended hook up.  You can use 2 amplifiers, bridged or otherwise, send them the same signal and power subs and place those subs anywhere you think they belong.

What you cannot do is join 2 separate amplifier's outputs *together* and connect them to a load.

Whether or not your amps are sufficiently "large enough" depends on your program material and how you intend to use the system.  We are still waiting to learn those so we can advise further.

You may not realize it but you're receiving help from 3 people (so far) who have over a century of *professional* audio experience between them.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Chris Grimshaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1580
  • Sheffield, UK
    • Grimshaw Audio
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2020, 12:52:17 pm »


What you cannot do is join 2 separate amplifier's outputs *together* and connect them to a load.

For a while I hypothesised that you could get a pair of MA5002VZs, put each one in parallel mono, drive one reversed polarity to the other, take signal across the output terminals, and have a single-channel 6U, heavy, 10KW@2ohm amplifier.
Never got around to testing that, though.

Chris
Logged
Sheffield-based sound engineering.
www.grimshawaudio.com

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21750
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2020, 04:25:43 pm »

For a while I hypothesised that you could get a pair of MA5002VZs, put each one in parallel mono, drive one reversed polarity to the other, take signal across the output terminals, and have a single-channel 6U, heavy, 10KW@2ohm amplifier.
Never got around to testing that, though.

Chris

I'll be fixing a nice tea.  Let me know when to put up the blast shield. ;)
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1972
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2020, 07:51:37 pm »

For a while I hypothesised that you could get a pair of MA5002VZs, put each one in parallel mono, drive one reversed polarity to the other, take signal across the output terminals, and have a single-channel 6U, heavy, 10KW@2ohm amplifier.
Never got around to testing that, though.

Chris

Crown got close with their MA 10,000

Helge A Bentsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1036
  • Oslo, Norway.
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2020, 07:50:19 am »

For a while I hypothesised that you could get a pair of MA5002VZs, put each one in parallel mono, drive one reversed polarity to the other, take signal across the output terminals, and have a single-channel 6U, heavy, 10KW@2ohm amplifier.
Never got around to testing that, though.

Chris

These days you could do that with a Powersoft X4L. It's 10.000W/channel with asymmetrical loads.
Or 8200W/2ohm per channel with all channels driven.
 8)
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2020, 10:29:09 am »


Here is a very good source of information from Crown Amplification.  Much better than me trying to put it into words...




https://www.crownaudio.com/how-much-amplifier-power




Steve.

Much thanks Steve  ;)
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2020, 10:50:10 am »

No, this is a forum were real first and last names are required.  Yours is just different enough that it raised a question of authenticity (attempts at gaming the forum's real name policy happen routinely).  I'm sure you're mature enough to handle that, eh?

Your question was not clear as to your intended hook up.  You can use 2 amplifiers, bridged or otherwise, send them the same signal and power subs and place those subs anywhere you think they belong.

What you cannot do is join 2 separate amplifier's outputs *together* and connect them to a load.

Whether or not your amps are sufficiently "large enough" depends on your program material and how you intend to use the system.  We are still waiting to learn those so we can advise further.

You may not realize it but you're receiving help from 3 people (so far) who have over a century of *professional* audio experience between them.

Thanks for the advice, the question was straight forward, it's was just your interpretation. I can read hence knowing 3 people are helping me with my initial question about BRIDGING 2 amps & not connecting two outputs that would by stupid now. Although I respect the knowledge that is held it doesn't make you anymore special then I, oneself likewise. Nothing suspect around here my names just different from your usual, yah know.  #ReggaeMusic 
Logged

Iyah Kush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2020, 10:57:47 am »

These days you could do that with a Powersoft X4L. It's 10.000W/channel with asymmetrical loads.
Or 8200W/2ohm per channel with all channels driven.
 8)

Thank you for your advice Helge, I will bookmark this & take into consideration but it's a lil out of my budget right now. Tnx again
Logged

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9091
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2020, 12:04:53 pm »

An ideal match is having about 1.5 x more RMS power than the speaker power handling.
However, those Pro Sound 1600 amps are more like 400 watt RMS. I wouldn't be happy using one in bridge mode (or at all actually!).


Steve.
Also what is the model of the subs?  Are they actually 1000 watts each, or is that "DJ watts".  What is the impedance?

YES, as we all know, details MATTER
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9091
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2020, 12:07:04 pm »

Crown got close with their MA 10,000
I thought the 10K was around 8000 watts (real power) at 0.5 ohms or something like that
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1972
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2020, 07:27:42 pm »

I thought the 10K was around 8000 watts (real power) at 0.5 ohms or something like that

Yep just pulled up the spec sheet, the MA10000 was a built for driving crazy low impedance.
8395 average at .5 ohm, at 4 ohms a modest 2525.
I'm guess it would do those numbers all day long.

For what it's worth the long forgotten Crown M600 was actually designed so you could pair two of them together to create a super amp for it's time back in the day.

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6143
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #21 on: July 10, 2020, 09:05:11 pm »

Yep just pulled up the spec sheet, the MA10000 was a built for driving crazy low impedance.
8395 average at .5 ohm, at 4 ohms a modest 2525.
I'm guess it would do those numbers all day long.

For what it's worth the long forgotten Crown M600 was actually designed so you could pair two of them together to create a super amp for it's time back in the day.


Weren't they used in a medical imaging application.
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Mike Caldwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1972
  • Covington, Ohio
    • Mike Caldwell Audio Productions
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #22 on: July 11, 2020, 01:31:16 am »


Weren't they used in a medical imaging application.

The Techron version was used to drive/pluse the magnets in MRI machines. Not sure if there was any
difference between the Crown and the Techron versions other then the connectors.

I remember seeing advertising from Crown that showed a MA10,000 and saying it powered all the PA system at the Indianapolis 500 speedway.

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9091
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2020, 12:21:54 pm »

The Techron version was used to drive/pluse the magnets in MRI machines. Not sure if there was any
difference between the Crown and the Techron versions other then the connectors.

I remember seeing advertising from Crown that showed a MA10,000 and saying it powered all the PA system at the Indianapolis 500 speedway.
As far as I know, there are several MA10Ks powering the system at Indi.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Pro Sound Amps & Subs
« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2020, 12:21:54 pm »


Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.054 seconds with 24 queries.