ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Network Switch Suggestions, and Other Thoughts on Revamping FOH Network  (Read 5286 times)

Mac Kerr

• Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Audio Plumber

I have no personal experience but there are a lot of reports in the Q-Sys Facebook Group that Ubiquiti products are not up to snuff for networked audio & video.

I specify Cisco 350s for lower end projects and Extreme x440 or Cisco 3650s for larger single-switch projects.

In the install world where integrators may be looking ahead to merged audio and video over SMPTE 2110 networks, most switches we see in the field currently will not be usable. Audio and video over 2110 requires PTPv2 management, and if your switch doesn't support that it you can't use it. For Simple systems like Dante networks with some device control the Cisco 300/350 products are still at the top of the list for robust switches. These days they are pretty reasonably priced, even more reasonable if you are looking at refurb as big users move up to more powerful platforms.

For uses where I need PTPv2 (Riedel Bolero and IP intercom panels) I really like the Luminex switches Riedel recommends. They are pricey, but so is everthing else in that class.

Mac

Ed Hall

• Classic LAB
  • Lansdale, PA

I was in the same position you are. I also bought some Dante gear to experiment and learn with while in this down time. I went with this TP Link switch. It’s managed via web page, has 16 ports with POE on 8 of them, QOS, and VLAN in 1/2 rack space. It’s not enterprise class, but it’s not given me any trouble in a little over three weeks.
I have 2 VLANs set up. One for control and one for Dante. It’s working like a charm so far.
I can't change reality just because you don't like it!

Tim Hite

• Bad Quail