ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: College Concert Sound  (Read 3099 times)

James E. Johnson

College Concert Sound
« on: April 19, 2011, 01:25:36 PM »

I have a dilemma on our hands at UNC Charlotte. I am a Special Event Technician for the school and we do concerts indoors and outdoors for smaller groups (100 to 500). Currently we have OAP T-153's. They have served us well for many years. They are currently on their last legs and we are looking to replace them soon. We usually run 4 to 6 at a time on ABI amps. We are looking for something with a bit more overhead to them without pushing them to the edge. We would also like to have something that is self-powered. If anyone can give some suggestions for what we can look into getting would be greatly appreciated. We have been looking at the JBL635's and the QSC KW153's.

Thanks-
Eric Johnson

g'bye, Dick Rees

• Duluth
Re: College Concert Sound
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 01:37:26 PM »

I have a dilemma We usually run 4 to 6 at a time on ABI amps.
Thanks-
Eric Johnson

It sort of depends on how you are deploying these things.  Considering that they are 90x40 nominal coverage/box, you would not want to be arraying them more than 2/side, and even then you'd be getting 180 degrees of coverage from a 2 cabinet splay.

If you're going to focus your power into an acceptable coverage pattern without excessive comb filtering/pattern interference you're going to want to look at cabinets which are meant to have a tighter focus or flat out higher power into fewer cabs.
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Randall Hyde

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2011, 04:04:54 PM »