ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Meyer Sound CQ1 over USW-1P  (Read 9957 times)

Matteo Lanzi

Meyer Sound CQ1 over USW-1P
« on: June 12, 2020, 07:27:21 AM »

Hi everyone,
new to the forum although I've been reading for quite some time. I'm doing a major upgrade to my personal rig, from QSC K8.2/RCF Art 705AS (first series) and old RCF Art300A as monitors to 2 Meyer Sound CQ1 tops over 2 USW-1P subs. I think I'll keep the K8.2 and move them to vocal monitor duty/ultraportable system for when it's needed.

I had considered JBL SRX 835P/828SP, but with the price of used gear dropping I will actually pay less for the Meyer rig and I believe it will sound, if not louder (TBD) at least better.

Use will be 80% for my band rehearsal room (I am a drummer), 10% for school events I volunteer at as DJ/sound service, 10% as our own PA for gigs that don't provide their own system.

My questions:
1. choice of used Meyer vs. new JBL SRX800, good idea, bad idea, meh? Thoughts?

2. my choice of subs is mainly weight related, I think ideally a 2x18/side would be better, but the 650P at 100Kg/221lb is hard to manage even for 2 people, and the 700HP is right up there, also maybe too much for those tops. Will the USW-1P be too underpowered vs. the CQ1, on a 1:1 ratio?

3. would you run the system a) full range top and bottom and deal with the overlapping in frequencies between 40 and 180H with eq, or b) use a dedicated line driver such as the Meyer LD-1a or LD-2 for crossover, or c) use the outputs of the X32 for crossover (subs into mono center output with LPF, tops into main LR with HPF)?

Would love to hear back from people who've used the CQ1/USW-1P combination.
Thanks in advance,
Matteo

PS I live in Italy, I had also thought of Danley (SM80+TH118) but no used Danley gear in Europe as far as I can tell and I can't afford new shipped from US.

Mac Kerr