ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8]   Go Down

Author Topic: Behringer NX6000  (Read 2796 times)

Art Welter

Re: Behringer NX6000
« Reply #70 on: May 28, 2020, 03:36:37 pm »

I've been an amateur sound guy for about 20 years but i've never set up limiters before funnily enough. I know what they are and what all the controls do but I never thought to myself "I must learn about proper limiting" as club sound systems i've set up before have had amplifiers matching the speakers continuous average power so it was easy.
Jack,

That approach works fine with music with relatively high crest factor as used to be common.
A peak limiter as built into most amplifiers will offer little protection for music with a low crest factor.
A 6000 watt peak amp only averages 120 watts playing music with a 20dB crest factor.
Drop the crest factor to 3dB, and most amps will current limit, as you are aware- the NU/NX6000 can still deliver around 1800 watts of sine wave, enough to cook voice coils rated at 1600 watts without a clip/limit light going off.

Safe "club sound system limiting" for your "1600 watt continuous" subs should probably be around 800 watt RMS, using a slow attack of around one second, 1000ms or so. Music with a crest factor of 10 dB or more would be unaffected, while the sine/square wave squashed stuff will be reduced to a "cool" level, only reducing the peak level of it by 3dB. Without the RMS limiter, voice coil heating/impedance rising could reduce level by that much (or more) so not likely to be noticed.

Art

Jack Hawkins

« Reply #71 on: May 28, 2020, 03:49:19 pm »