ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: FM Transmission  (Read 5778 times)

Isaac South

• Central Kentucky
FM Transmission
« on: May 18, 2020, 05:16:54 PM »

We have several people that are still not comfortable with entering the church building during services.  However, they come to the parking lot and we have a speaker set up outside.  We are considering the option of FM transmission, where they could set in their car and tune their radio to a frequency and hear the sermon.  Is this even a viable option?  Would I simply need a FM transmitter like the Rolls HR70 and that's it?  I'm a novice on this topic and I appreciate any feedback.  Thank you.

David Sturzenbecher

• So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: FM Transmission
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2020, 05:56:21 PM »

We have several people that are still not comfortable with entering the church building during services.  However, they come to the parking lot and we have a speaker set up outside.  We are considering the option of FM transmission, where they could set in their car and tune their radio to a frequency and hear the sermon.  Is this even a viable option?  Would I simply need a FM transmitter like the Rolls HR70 and that's it?  I'm a novice on this topic and I appreciate any feedback.  Thank you.

It will work, however...it is illegal.

https://www.fcc.gov/media/radio/low-power-radio-general-information#UNLICENSED

As long as you are willing to take the $10,000 per occurrence fine.
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Caleb Dueck

• Sierra Vista, AZ
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2020, 06:37:33 PM »

Hearing Assist FM systems work, see Listen Tech and Williams Sound.  Each car would buy their own receiver and plug into their car line in, or a tiny speaker and AC inverter or battery.