ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for Suggestions and Tips on Reverb Use in Live Sound  (Read 3038 times)

Bill Meeks

• Vidalia, Georgia - USA
Looking for Suggestions and Tips on Reverb Use in Live Sound
« on: April 23, 2020, 11:08:19 AM »

I have what I still consider limited experience with live mixing. I've been doing it for about 5 years for my church. Currently doing a contemporary and traditional service. Yamaha LS9-32 for traditional (it preceeded me) and a "just-acquired-in December last year" Yamaha TF5 with a pair of Dante Tio stage boxes for the contemporary service. I just started helping out with the contemporary service in December last year. Prior to the introduction of the TF5, they had a very old and very limited analog board with what amounted to zero effects.

This post is soliciting comments for the contemporary worship only. Band is 4 vocalists, 1 acoustic guitar, 2 electric guitars, electric bass, drums (in a full shield enclosure with top) and a Yamaha keyboard. Everything is straight DI except drums and vocals. Those have mics. Band is on Dante-based IEMs (Digital Audio Lab's LiveMix system). The drum shield and the move to straight DI and IEMs all happened at the same time in December last year. Music style is the typical Hillsong, Bethel Music, etc., sound.

My question is about reverb, delay and reverb layering in such a mix. What do you do in your typical mix for this genre?

• Do you use the same reverb everywhere, or do you have more than one with different mix elements getting different treatments?
  • Do you put reverb on any acoustic guitars? If so, what type?
  • What is your go-to vocal reverb? Do you also put a delay on vocals (I like to, and frequently use either 1/8th note or 1/4 note delay times on vocals only)