ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Crest Audio FA1201 low volume + clipping  (Read 348 times)

Bobby Saraceno

Crest Audio FA1201 low volume + clipping
« on: April 15, 2020, 03:15:02 pm »

Hello, this is my first post. I'm building a PA system to use with my band and I just got a Crest Audio FA1201 power amp for a song on Craigslist. I brought it home and connected it to my Peavey sp2 xt 8 ohm PA speakers. I hooked my bass up through a DI into the input and all I could hear was a distorted signal at low volume despite the channel volume control being up almost half way. This is my first time purchasing a power amp, I actually have never used one before because I always used powered mixers. Due to the things being the way the are now, I can't exactly take it to a repair shop. If anyone has any tips or advice, please let me know. Thanks in advance

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Crest Audio FA1201 low volume + clipping
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2020, 03:25:18 pm »

Hello, this is my first post. I'm building a PA system to use with my band and I just got a Crest Audio FA1201 power amp for a song on Craigslist. I brought it home and connected it to my Peavey sp2 xt 8 ohm PA speakers. I hooked my bass up through a DI into the input and all I could hear was a distorted signal at low volume despite the channel volume control being up almost half way. This is my first time purchasing a power amp, I actually have never used one before because I always used powered mixers. Due to the things being the way the are now, I can't exactly take it to a repair shop. If anyone has any tips or advice, please let me know. Thanks in advance