ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need Help with Kramer Scaler/Switcher...  (Read 664 times)

Tyler Carson

Need Help with Kramer Scaler/Switcher...
« on: March 15, 2020, 09:00:48 pm »

Ok... gonna let you know up front I'm a novice in A/V. I'm good with electronics, sound system operations and implementations, have done video work (recording, not live) and I am a musician (I know that cancels out all knowledge...lol). While I have the chops to record good quality video- I lack some experience in the live stream space. Here's the problem...

I have a Kramer VP-719DS Scaler/Switcher (old, I know). Even though it's older, it would work great for live streaming, if I could get the darn thing to function properly. The VP powers on, I see the splash screen, and then goes to the solid blue backer (when there is no video input). I cannot get to the OSD controls (remote is missing from existence) to come up with the menu button, I have tried the "unlock" sequence with no luck, I'm currently trying to figure out how to connect it to an older computer via a RS-232 cable and see if I can stumble through and factory reset this thing.

The VP will display a video input from any of the inputs- however it will not switch between them. The IR light is constantly flashing, and none of the front panel buttons seem to do much of anything, however if I push the YC1 button(and hold it down), the component, VGA and AV1 LEDs turn on, as well as the sx-v LED and 852x1024 LED. No other buttons or combination of buttons seem to have any effect on the unit. Am I missing something completely obvious or is this thing toast? Any help or advice with this would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks in advance! Tyler

Erik Jerde

• Classic LAB
Re: Need Help with Kramer Scaler/Switcher...
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2020, 01:46:17 am »