ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Master slave mode - stand alone  (Read 1011 times)

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Master slave mode - stand alone
« on: March 04, 2020, 06:38:47 pm »

Hello,

Question; I have 2 Chauvet Mini 4 bar 2.0's, and 2 Chauvet 4 bar flex's that I am daisy chaining, running in master/slave mode and controlling with a foot pedal (very basic set up).
I can get the chain to sync up until the 4th bar and then the 4th bar either does it's own thing or just stays on. I have the mode set to 3-CH, and all the addresses set to 001.
I've tried every configuration as far as switching out which bar is the master, with no luck. It seems that last bar in the chain will not sync up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 
 
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2278
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2020, 07:29:46 pm »

You must change your display name to your actual name before anyone will respond.
We're all waiting to help, but rules are rules.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2020, 11:05:20 am »

You must change your display name to your actual name before anyone will respond.
We're all waiting to help, but rules are rules.

Gotcha, name has been changed, thought I had done that. Thanks for the heads up!
Logged

Steve Garris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1443
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2020, 12:23:02 pm »

Hello,

Question; I have 2 Chauvet Mini 4 bar 2.0's, and 2 Chauvet 4 bar flex's that I am daisy chaining, running in master/slave mode and controlling with a foot pedal (very basic set up).
I can get the chain to sync up until the 4th bar and then the 4th bar either does it's own thing or just stays on. I have the mode set to 3-CH, and all the addresses set to 001.
I've tried every configuration as far as switching out which bar is the master, with no luck. It seems that last bar in the chain will not sync up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

If you are using a dmx address, then all of the lights should be set to Master. Have you tried that?

Alternately, you could try setting only one light to Master, with dmx 001, and the other 3 lights to Slave. Is that what you did to begin with?
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2278
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2020, 12:55:21 pm »

If you are using a dmx address, then all of the lights should be set to Master. Have you tried that?

Alternately, you could try setting only one light to Master, with dmx 001, and the other 3 lights to Slave. Is that what you did to begin with?

Do you have the daisy chain terminated?
Have you re-ordered the fixtures to see if one is causing the problem?
Have you swapped cables around for the same reason?
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2020, 01:23:09 pm »

Do you have the daisy chain terminated?
Have you re-ordered the fixtures to see if one is causing the problem?
Have you swapped cables around for the same reason?

I do not have the chain terminated, Chauvet claimed it wasn't necessary...I have tried the reorder of fixtures and swapped cables around with no luck.
 
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2020, 01:28:13 pm »

If you are using a dmx address, then all of the lights should be set to Master. Have you tried that?

Alternately, you could try setting only one light to Master, with dmx 001, and the other 3 lights to Slave. Is that what you did to begin with?

So, on these Chauvet bars, there are a couple modes, 3 - CH, 1.5 - CH, Auto, Snd. There is no "master" mode that I am aware of.
The manual said to master/slave, use 3-CH, then address the slaves as 001 which I did. And up to the 3rd bar, everything works...it's just the 4th/last bar that
will not sync.
 
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2278
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2020, 04:42:56 pm »

So, on these Chauvet bars, there are a couple modes, 3 - CH, 1.5 - CH, Auto, Snd. There is no "master" mode that I am aware of.
The manual said to master/slave, use 3-CH, then address the slaves as 001 which I did. And up to the 3rd bar, everything works...it's just the 4th/last bar that
will not sync.
Try a terminator.  It can't hurt.
A definite solution would be to get a set of Donner wireless TX/RX pods.
One on each device eliminates ALL wires and daisy chains.
Quite reasonably priced.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Paul G. OBrien

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1070
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2020, 06:28:46 pm »

In my experience only identical fixtures can be master/slaved.
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2020, 07:21:44 pm »

Try a terminator.  It can't hurt.
A definite solution would be to get a set of Donner wireless TX/RX pods.
One on each device eliminates ALL wires and daisy chains.
Quite reasonably priced.
With the Donner pods, are they basically plug & play?
Logged

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1522
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2020, 09:53:33 pm »

It seems that last bar in the chain will not sync up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Tim, is this last fixture the master?  When skimming the manuals for these two fixtures it looks like they want the master placed last in the daisy chain.  This is not normal practice, but it might be necessary for this to work.  Have you tried master/slave without your foot pedal?

I do not have the chain terminated, Chauvet claimed it wasn't necessary...I have tried the reorder of fixtures and swapped cables around with no luck.

I agree that a terminator is not necessary here.  Have you tried using only three fixtures?  Does the last fixture drop out or does everything work correctly in master/slave with the pedal?  If the third fixture no longer works I think my first point might have merit worth investigating.

In my experience only identical fixtures can be master/slaved.

That's generally valid, though on occasion a manufacturer will make a line of products that have some degree of intercompatibility.  The American DJ Commercial Series from the early 2000s is an example.  Looking at the DMX traits for both of these Chauvet fixtures I see no reason why this can't work, but can't guarantee it either.

A definite solution would be to get a set of Donner wireless TX/RX pods.
 
I'm not seeing how this would solve the problem.  Between the pedal Tim's using for control and the master unit sending commands (presumably DMX), I don't think there's a way to be certain that adding more devices (wireless, none the less) would fix this.

Tim, my money is riding on something with the master not being set right.  I know the manuals are sparse at best, but when I see something specifying the master be at the end of the daisy chain instead of at the front, special handling might be required and missing a single step of the setup can cause issues such as this.  Give the three unit master/slave setup a try and see what happens.  That should help narrow things down.  Good luck!
Logged

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2278
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2020, 11:08:07 pm »

With the Donner pods, are they basically plug & play?
Yes, as simple as can be.  You can set a different channel, but that's it.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2278
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2020, 11:11:31 pm »


I'm not seeing how this would solve the problem.  Between the pedal Tim's using for control and the master unit sending commands (presumably DMX), I don't think there's a way to be certain that adding more devices (wireless, none the less) would fix this.


By using separate dongles, they become separate chains, so no interaction between the fixtures, which seems to be where the problem sets in.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1522
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2020, 06:55:32 am »

By using separate dongles, they become separate chains, so no interaction between the fixtures, which seems to be where the problem sets in.

Right, but master/slave mode requires interaction between the fixtures.  Theoretically the master should be transmitting data (DMX in this case) to the other slaves and the slaves shouldn't be sending any data of their own, but given the mixing of fixtures I'm not entirely sure that's the case here.  I certainly don't disagree that this would solve the problem if we can isolate this to a data corruption issue over the cables, but I don't think we're to that point yet and implementing this solution would be premature.

...When skimming the manuals for these two fixtures it looks like they want the master placed last in the daisy chain.  This is not normal practice...

I need to make a correction to this - it would appear after rereading the manuals that both fixture types want the master first in the daisy chain.  What confused me is that they prescribe the master be powered up last ("plugged in last" per their language, which is what caused my misinterpretation).  Based on that, Tim, I still suggest seeing if 3 fixtures work okay in master/slave with and without the foot pedal and going from there.  Pay very close attention to the order you power-up fixtures in as this seems to be important.  Good luck! 
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2020, 08:12:03 am »

Hi Tim, is this last fixture the master?  When skimming the manuals for these two fixtures it looks like they want the master placed last in the daisy chain.  This is not normal practice, but it might be necessary for this to work.  Have you tried master/slave without your foot pedal?

I agree that a terminator is not necessary here.  Have you tried using only three fixtures?  Does the last fixture drop out or does everything work correctly in master/slave with the pedal?  If the third fixture no longer works I think my first point might have merit worth investigating.
 
That's generally valid, though on occasion a manufacturer will make a line of products that have some degree of intercompatibility.  The American DJ Commercial Series from the early 2000s is an example.  Looking at the DMX traits for both of these Chauvet fixtures I see no reason why this can't work, but can't guarantee it either.
 
I'm not seeing how this would solve the problem.  Between the pedal Tim's using for control and the master unit sending commands (presumably DMX), I don't think there's a way to be certain that adding more devices (wireless, none the less) would fix this.

Tim, my money is riding on something with the master not being set right.  I know the manuals are sparse at best, but when I see something specifying the master be at the end of the daisy chain instead of at the front, special handling might be required and missing a single step of the setup can cause issues such as this.  Give the three unit master/slave setup a try and see what happens.  That should help narrow things down.  Good luck!

So, I currently have 3 fixtures (bars) connected (DMX) controlling with the pedal, and the chain works as intended. It's just when I add that forth bar, and the forth bar either stays on and is not controlled by the pedal, or it flickers. I've tried all configurations i.e. change up which is master. I have not tried the master as last in the chain...How would that work? DMX out from first fixture and ending with DMX in at the last (master)? And when I set the fixtures, I am using 3-CH mode and addressing all as d  1. 
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2020, 08:17:56 am »

Right, but master/slave mode requires interaction between the fixtures.  Theoretically the master should be transmitting data (DMX in this case) to the other slaves and the slaves shouldn't be sending any data of their own, but given the mixing of fixtures I'm not entirely sure that's the case here.  I certainly don't disagree that this would solve the problem if we can isolate this to a data corruption issue over the cables, but I don't think we're to that point yet and implementing this solution would be premature.

I need to make a correction to this - it would appear after rereading the manuals that both fixture types want the master first in the daisy chain.  What confused me is that they prescribe the master be powered up last ("plugged in last" per their language, which is what caused my misinterpretation).  Based on that, Tim, I still suggest seeing if 3 fixtures work okay in master/slave with and without the foot pedal and going from there.  Pay very close attention to the order you power-up fixtures in as this seems to be important.  Good luck!
Understood. I currently have master at the front and daisy chained the 2 other fixtures and they work with and without the pedal correctly. I am going to try the power up piece...I did see that in the manual as well and I believe I did pay attention to that. 
Logged

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1522
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2020, 10:30:19 am »

Understood. I currently have master at the front and daisy chained the 2 other fixtures and they work with and without the pedal correctly. I am going to try the power up piece...I did see that in the manual as well and I believe I did pay attention to that.

Yes, I would keep it that way - disregard the idea of putting the master at the end - while it won't hurt anything and will probably still work, the manual wasn't clear when referring to "plugging in the master last" meaning electrical, not position.  That said, if this is true DMX it shouldn't matter the order that fixtures are powered (generally speaking).

...It's just when I add that forth bar, and the forth bar either stays on and is not controlled by the pedal, or it flickers...
 
That's a very important detail.  If the fixture was simply "dead" in the sense that it's waiting for commands via DMX, I'd still think this was a setup issue.  Since the behavior is erratic, I'm more inclined to think this is a problem related to a clean signal not being passed to the last fixture.  While I find it hard to believe that the signal produced by the master isn't strong enough to pass through two fixtures, that's more or less what seems to be the case.  How long are your cables and are they proper DMX cable?  Assuming nothing ridiculous like 5000ft of mic cable, I think Dave's suggestion might be worth trying.  I'm still not of the mindset it's a guaranteed fix, but now knowing this extra information the idea definitely carries merit and would be worth spending a few dollars on in hopes it works.  Good luck!       
Logged

Steve Garris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1443
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2020, 12:46:07 pm »

So, on these Chauvet bars, there are a couple modes, 3 - CH, 1.5 - CH, Auto, Snd. There is no "master" mode that I am aware of.
The manual said to master/slave, use 3-CH, then address the slaves as 001 which I did. And up to the 3rd bar, everything works...it's just the 4th/last bar that
will not sync.

I just read both manuals. First of all, the footswitch takes precedent over all other settings.  "There is no need to modify any settings for the Mini 4-bar before connecting the footswitch. It will operate properly in any mode"

Secondly, Master/Slave only works if the Master is set to "Automatic or Sound Active Mode". Are you doing this, and if so, why the footswitch?
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2020, 02:25:03 pm »

I just read both manuals. First of all, the footswitch takes precedent over all other settings.  "There is no need to modify any settings for the Mini 4-bar before connecting the footswitch. It will operate properly in any mode"

Secondly, Master/Slave only works if the Master is set to "Automatic or Sound Active Mode". Are you doing this, and if so, why the footswitch?
Yes, I saw that in the manual as well, Chauvet tells me that it will work in any of the modes, I am using stand alone mode. I currently have 3 of the bars working properly, it's just that last bar that won't connect/sync. As far as cable length, all cables are 50 ft. DMX.
Logged

Tim Peterson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2020, 02:28:18 pm »

Yes, I would keep it that way - disregard the idea of putting the master at the end - while it won't hurt anything and will probably still work, the manual wasn't clear when referring to "plugging in the master last" meaning electrical, not position.  That said, if this is true DMX it shouldn't matter the order that fixtures are powered (generally speaking).
 
That's a very important detail.  If the fixture was simply "dead" in the sense that it's waiting for commands via DMX, I'd still think this was a setup issue.  Since the behavior is erratic, I'm more inclined to think this is a problem related to a clean signal not being passed to the last fixture.  While I find it hard to believe that the signal produced by the master isn't strong enough to pass through two fixtures, that's more or less what seems to be the case.  How long are your cables and are they proper DMX cable?  Assuming nothing ridiculous like 5000ft of mic cable, I think Dave's suggestion might be worth trying.  I'm still not of the mindset it's a guaranteed fix, but now knowing this extra information the idea definitely carries merit and would be worth spending a few dollars on in hopes it works.  Good luck!     

I was thinking the same thing...signal not being passed to the last fixture. DMX cables are 50 ft. I am going to try a terminator although Chauvet tells me it's not necessary. Worth a try though.
Logged

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1522
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2020, 05:25:23 pm »

I was thinking the same thing...signal not being passed to the last fixture. DMX cables are 50 ft. I am going to try a terminator although Chauvet tells me it's not necessary. Worth a try though.

Having 50ft of cable between fixtures shouldn't be a problem.  I'd try some short 5ft cables if you have them (even mic cable if you must) just to see if there's a difference - it won't hurt anything.  I agree that you might as well try a terminator too.  My usual mantra with them is that in 20 years of lighting I have yet to have one repeatably solve a problem on a "lounge level" system where there wasn't a deeper underlying problem going on.  Your case might be an exception to this as there's very little else for you to try at this point.  Beyond that, without having DMX diagnostic equipment the solutions start becoming more expensive with still no promise of success.  Good luck!   
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Master slave mode - stand alone
« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2020, 05:25:23 pm »


Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.045 seconds with 23 queries.