ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RTS Audiocom Over Dante  (Read 371 times)

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 859
  • Gauteng, South Africa
RTS Audiocom Over Dante
« on: February 19, 2020, 05:23:49 am »

We are currently running an RTS Audiocom system for comms. We will be doing a major rewire project that will include replacing our current connections between FOH and Backstage with fiber. There is a chance that we can leave some copper lines between the two but so far the only thing that still requires a copper connection is the RTS comms system.

My question is will it be possible to pipe the partyline over DANTE, just building a device to block the power being transmitter to the DANTE interface? Obviously on the other end there will need to be a remote power supply so that any beltpacks can get powered.

If that isn't viable does anyone know of a solution to pipe the comms over fiber?
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1481
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 859
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: RTS Audiocom Over Dante
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2020, 02:25:17 pm »

Both their products seems to cater for TW/Clearcom but not for Audiocom which uses balanced audio and the power is across both signal lines as well. Looks like a good product and if I don't come right otherwise there are ways to convert Audiocom to the other standards.
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Pete Erskine

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
    • Best Audio
Re: RTS Audiocom Over Dante
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2020, 09:43:34 pm »

We are currently running an RTS Audiocom system for comms. We will be doing a major rewire project that will include replacing our current connections between FOH and Backstage with fiber. There is a chance that we can leave some copper lines between the two but so far the only thing that still requires a copper connection is the RTS comms system.

My question is will it be possible to pipe the partyline over DANTE, just building a device to block the power being transmitter to the DANTE interface? Obviously on the other end there will need to be a remote power supply so that any beltpacks can get powered.

If that isn't viable does anyone know of a solution to pipe the comms over fiber?

https://products.rtsintercoms.com/us/en/dsi-2008/
The DSI-2008 dual digital hybrid interfaces two two-wire intercom lines to two four-wire lines, and also interfaces balanced and unbalanced two-wire lines.
Logged
Pete Erskine
917-750-1134
www.bestaudio.com
peter@bestaudio.com

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2411
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: RTS Audiocom Over Dante
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2020, 10:08:32 pm »

https://products.rtsintercoms.com/us/en/dsi-2008/
The DSI-2008 dual digital hybrid interfaces two two-wire intercom lines to two four-wire lines, and also interfaces balanced and unbalanced two-wire lines.

Cool box. 
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: RTS Audiocom Over Dante
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2020, 10:08:32 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.042 seconds with 26 queries.