ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Setting up Input level for Mixer/Audio Interface to Camcorder  (Read 2013 times)

Micheal Lopsy

Setting up Input level for Mixer/Audio Interface to Camcorder
« on: February 04, 2020, 02:26:20 PM »

Hey there, I am a musician who plays 2 gigs a week. I just got a Canon Vixia HF800 to record myself live (mixer) and in studio (audio interface). I am posting this content to youtube. I have a yamaha Stagepas 400 for a mixer and a scarlett 2i2 for an audio interface. I am able to hook up to the camera just fine, both scenarios have 3.5mm out with adjustable output level. I am wondering how to properly set output and input levels. I can adjust the output from the interface/mixer and I can adjust the input on the camera for an external mic. I've heard that most camera preamps are not good so it is much better to use as least possible as you can. My attemps so far to keep input at around 12 have come back over video as clipped. Can you have a clipped signal coming from the mixer? What's the best order of steps to have great sound quality. Thank you for the help.

Side note: Would it be easier for home recording to just record through interface and sync them up in video editing software?

Craig Leerman

• Global Moderator
  • Do Not Read This!
Real Names are required to participate here
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 02:47:35 PM »

Hi,
Real names are required to participate here.

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.
Thanks
Craig
I'm so old, when I was doing FOH for Tommy Dorsey, to balance out the horn section I would slide their chairs downstage and upstage to mix!