ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Choir with Big Band mic situation  (Read 3176 times)

Jake Kahn

Choir with Big Band mic situation
« on: January 23, 2020, 07:44:30 PM »

Hey everyone, I'm in the process of trying to mic a recital in a few weeks. I am by no means an expert, and really have no idea how to approach this.

The venue is a large rehearsal space in a school. There is no PA system, so I have to use amps for everything. There is a small choir of 12 people (SATB) that will be places in front and a little to the side of an 18-piece big band. Someone has recommended using a couple condenser mics placed high and pointing down at the choir, and using a vocal amp per mic. Do you guys think this is the optimal route since there is no PA system? Could I get some recommendations on the exact model of mics that I should rent to do something like this?

Thanks for reading

Dave Garoutte

• San Rafael, CA
Re: Choir with Big Band mic situation
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 08:00:43 PM »

Where are you?
It's more involved than that.
Maybe someone here is nearby and can help you out or rent you the needed stuff.
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

Geert Friedhof

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2020, 10:57:05 PM »

Rent some (12) DPA 4088's and have fun.

Mike Monte

• My website
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2020, 11:38:28 PM »

Hey everyone, I'm in the process of trying to mic a recital in a few weeks. I am by no means an expert, and really have no idea how to approach this.