ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: In Defense of Hobbyists  (Read 4925 times)

Mark Norgren

• Mark Norgren
Re: In Defense of Hobbyists
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2020, 08:24:20 AM »

I guess I am a Hobbyist, non-competing, decent gear (Midas,QSC), weekend warrior, insurance and production company, that just does sound for MY band.  I am serious about sound and TONE.  I am a guitarist that takes the mix of my band pretty seriously.  I should also mention that I'm close to 60 years old and would never post anything without doing some searches for answers prior to posting a new thread.  I might be confused, curious, or need clarification?

I joined this forum because of the expertise that seemed to be here to assist and discuss the art of live sound.  I felt like I got my hand slapped on another post I made a couple of days ago.  I am a member of a few other forums and have gotten to be friends with people all over the world that share common interests.  Friends help each other.  I'm not here to take jobs from other companies, or steal trade secrets, or be a pain in the ass to anyone.  I don't have all the answers or claim to have a lot expertise in this area.  For the most part, I have been welcomed and learned a lot from from reading here and being a part of a few threads.  I may have even contributed in some cases?

It sounds like "Hobbyists" need to stick to this area.  Possibly moderators could move threads here if they feel they are out of place or too elementary for the pro side.  I am here to get along and learn a few things.  For the second time in three days, I apologize if someone takes offense to these comments, but let's try to all get along.  This is not politics we are talking about.  Carry on.

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2020, 10:26:32 AM »