ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DMX, LED, Cat6, and flicker  (Read 2574 times)

Peter Gothold

DMX, LED, Cat6, and flicker
« on: January 23, 2020, 01:53:00 PM »

This may be basic knowledge, but I'm somewhat new to DMX system design and troubleshooting.

Background: I'm 4 months in to a position at a church and figuring out what's existing while wanting to add functionality.

What I did: add floor lamps with dimmable LED bulbs to the stage by adding a 4ch dimmer pack to the daisy chain with 150' cat6 cables and adapters.

Problem: the lamps flicker every couple seconds

I wanted to add DMX control to our stage, but all the dimmers are in the back of the balcony, so I ran cat6 cable under the floor all the way to the stage and back to keep the daisy chain. The lamps flicker, and I thought it could be ground issues so I tried an optoisolator, then the Fleenor DMX Decelerator before the dimmer pack, but that didn't fix the issue.

Complications: We have 3 architectural controls that come after the added dimmer pack in the chain, and they seem to be what's causing the flicker. When the lamps are controlled by the board they don't flicker, only when they are controlled by the presets on the wall controller. We use the wall controls to run our show (not ideal, I know), so it would be best to figure out the flicker while keeping the wall controls in the mix.

Board: Sweet old NSI MC 7024

Added Dimmer pack: ADJ DP-DMX-20L

Problem lights: 10 Floor lamps with 4w LED bulbs all one 1 circuit in the dimmer

Wall controls: Doug Fleenor PRE10

Any input would be welcome, thanks in advance!

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: DMX, LED, Cat6, and flicker
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 02:18:18 PM »