ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: use of 50 ohm terminators  (Read 1251 times)

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3396
  • Toronto
Re: use of 50 ohm terminators
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2020, 01:16:51 pm »

The 50 ohm terminators were fairly inexpensive but now , if I have to add DC blockers, the price seems to jump up considerably!
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Steve-White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 259
  • Fort Worth
Re: use of 50 ohm terminators
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2020, 01:28:45 pm »

use DC blocks before terms... or they will burn out.

I probably would have never considered that.  The RF riding on a DC component.  Common to all?  Or some do and some don't?
Logged

Russell Ault

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 785
  • Edmonton, AB
Re: use of 50 ohm terminators
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2020, 03:44:18 pm »

I probably would have never considered that.  The RF riding on a DC component.  Common to all?  Or some do and some don't?

It's mostly a Sennheiser thing. Sennheiser's EW G3 and G4 RXs can be powered by a 12V DC bias voltage supplied on their antenna inputs (similar to how active antennas are powered, but in reverse) and a couple of their antenna distros (specifically the ASA 1 and the ASA 214) supply this voltage on the outputs (just the A outputs I believe). Most antenna distros don't do this (including other Sennheiser ones) and so shouldn't require DC blocking.

-Russ
Logged

Steve-White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 259
  • Fort Worth
Re: use of 50 ohm terminators
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2020, 05:29:03 pm »

^^^ Good to know.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: use of 50 ohm terminators
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2020, 05:29:03 pm »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.04 seconds with 23 queries.