ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Multiple bluetooth receivers  (Read 3310 times)

Brian Bugler

Multiple bluetooth receivers
« on: November 27, 2019, 05:02:18 AM »

Hi all,
My name is Brian, I am a AV University Technician in an Irish University and new to this forum.
I am currently designing the AV for a new Dental School and Hospital and I have been asked to install a wireless audio solution into approximately 20 surgeries.
The end user wants to be able to walk into a surgery and connect their phone via bluetooth to a speaker in that room. The problem I have is that there are clusters of 5 surgeries next to each other and I cannot envisage a bluetooth solution working due to proximity issues (unless I used five different bluetooth products! - obviously I don't want to do this).

My understanding is that it is very difficult to re-name the bluetooth identifying name of a device, I did find one product - (Optimal speaker Design XWB50) which has a pairing button but without testing I am not sure if this will work with multiple devices in close proximity, I have enquired with OSD with this question.
In the meantime if anyone in this forum has rolled out a similar solution or knows the solution it would be great to hear from you!

Lee Douglas

• 47.662615, -116.756954
Re: Multiple bluetooth receivers
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 11:40:22 PM »

I installed around fifteen of these in an office environment a several years ago.  Added a couple of 15vdc Altronix power supplies in the data room to clean the install up.  Worked fine at the time and have not had a service call since then.  So there's that...

https://www.kbsound.com/products/in-wall-bluetooth-audio-receiver-5
This space for rent

Daniel Levi

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 01:37:47 AM »