ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante  (Read 1978 times)

Josh Rawls

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 189
Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« on: November 15, 2019, 08:24:55 pm »

I'm looking for a rack mount mixer (1U or 2U, not a top rack mount) that also has Dante. I don't need any controls on the front as everything will be set and then recalled with scenes from an iPad.

The only two options I've found so far are the Midas M32R and the Yamaha TF-Rack. Anything else I'm missing?
Logged
Josh Rawls

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 08:39:46 pm »

I'm looking for a rack mount mixer (1U or 2U, not a top rack mount) that also has Dante. I don't need any controls on the front as everything will be set and then recalled with scenes from an iPad.

The only two options I've found so far are the Midas M32R and the Yamaha TF-Rack. Anything else I'm missing?

Midas M32C with Dante card.  1RU, essentially no other I/O but the 32x32 Dante interface

X32 Rack with Dante Card.  3RU, some local I/O.

Yamaha TF-Rack with Dante Card.  similar to X32-rack above.

If all you want is Dante I/O the M32C is gonna be very hard to beat.
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2019, 12:35:01 pm »

Midas M32C with Dante card.  1RU, essentially no other I/O but the 32x32 Dante interface

X32 Rack with Dante Card.  3RU, some local I/O.

Yamaha TF-Rack with Dante Card.  similar to X32-rack above.

If all you want is Dante I/O the M32C is gonna be very hard to beat.

The 1u x/m 32 units have their aes50 io too.  Just no onboard analog io.
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1724
  • So. Dak.
    • Sturz Audio
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2019, 01:15:49 pm »


If all you want is Dante I/O the M32C is gonna be very hard to beat.
I would disagree. It would be very easy to beat because you won’t have head amp control with this setup over Dante.

The TF-Rack with Tio1608 would be my suggestion if it had to be Dante.
Logged
Audio Systems Design Engineer
Daktronics, Inc.
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2019, 01:20:10 pm »

I would disagree. It would be very easy to beat because you won’t have head amp control with this setup over Dante.

The TF-Rack with Tio1608 would be my suggestion if it had to be Dante.

The OP makes no mention of any device needing Head Amp control.
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3419
  • Toronto
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2019, 06:51:01 am »

The OP makes no mention of any device needing Head Amp control.
Quote
I don't need any controls on the front as everything will be set and then recalled with scenes from an iPad.
The M32C would be perfect.
I didn't even know it existed! Now I'm thinking of applications I could use it for.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2574
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2019, 08:41:24 am »

I would disagree. It would be very easy to beat because you won’t have head amp control with this setup over Dante.

The TF-Rack with Tio1608 would be my suggestion if it had to be Dante.


I have a TF-Rack with the Dante card. It works great, but the dante patch in/out of the device is weird. I had to map it myself because I could find no place where it's written down.

Basically the TF has no facility to patch it's dante ins and outs internal to the console which means the dante patch is what it is and you can't change it. Where this gets weird is that on the output side dante 1 through 32 are the channel direct outs. Dante 33 is aux 1, 34 is aux 2, etc...

That was fun to figure out. Other than that it's a great little rack mount desk with a lot of features. I'm using it basically as a system processor for a rodeo arena. I have 8 zones all with delay and eq plus the 10 or so inputs. The Dante lets me send and receive audio to my other buildings when I need to.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Michael Lascuola

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
    • WoodlawnSound.com
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2019, 12:31:37 pm »

I'm looking for a rack mount mixer (1U or 2U, not a top rack mount) that also has Dante. I don't need any controls on the front as everything will be set and then recalled with scenes from an iPad.

The only two options I've found so far are the Midas M32R and the Yamaha TF-Rack. Anything else I'm missing?

Another option not mentioned is a Mackie DL32R with Dante card.

If I were starting over, I'd probably go with an M32C.
Logged
Colorado Springs, CO

Robert Healey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2019, 06:45:09 pm »

I'm looking for a rack mount mixer (1U or 2U, not a top rack mount) that also has Dante. I don't need any controls on the front as everything will be set and then recalled with scenes from an iPad.

The only two options I've found so far are the Midas M32R and the Yamaha TF-Rack. Anything else I'm missing?

What is the application? It sounds like you could use a modern DSP.

Look at the QSC Core 110f or Biamp TesiraForte DAN.
Logged

MikeHarris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 417
Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2019, 04:06:21 am »

Unfortunately it’s not clear if this ‘mixer’ must have mic pre..eq..efx...quantity..analog outs ?

Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Rackmount Mixer w/ Dante
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2019, 04:06:21 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.029 seconds with 23 queries.