ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: PA Power amp Connection Question  (Read 585 times)

Scott Gray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
PA Power amp Connection Question
« on: October 22, 2019, 01:38:27 pm »

This should be an easy answer, but I cannot find it online.

I have a Behringer Xenyx 1222 mixer and just purchased a Behringer NX4 6000 to replace the existing power amp. The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?

Y adapter seems the obvious solution, but some people seem to think Y cables should not be used??

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Logged

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3203
  • Toronto
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2019, 01:44:13 pm »

This should be an easy answer, but I cannot find it online.

I have a Behringer Xenyx 1222 mixer and just purchased a Behringer NX4 6000 to replace the existing power amp. The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?

Y adapter seems the obvious solution, but some people seem to think Y cables should not be used??

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
I see no  reason Y adapters will not be suitable for your application if the on board switches don't give you input configuration options.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Mark Cadwallader

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Helena, Montana USA
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2019, 05:49:02 pm »

The general rule of thumb that I learned is that it is okay to split a signal with a wye cable, but don't combine signals with a wye.
Logged
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Geert Friedhof

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 602
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2019, 06:08:17 pm »

Put both 'mode' switches in mono, and both 'crossover' switches at full range.
Put Left and Right from the mixer in A and C respectively.
A and B will be Left, C and D will be Right.
Logged

Scott Gray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2019, 10:03:34 pm »

Put both 'mode' switches in mono, and both 'crossover' switches at full range.
Put Left and Right from the mixer in A and C respectively.
A and B will be Left, C and D will be Right.

I thought it should be something like this, just didn't have the correct combination. Thank You.
Logged

Scott Gray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2019, 09:25:39 am »

OK, so I connected this way. Now on the power amp A = left and C = right but B and D volume controls do nothing. I'm trying to get a L & R Mains and L & R Monitors all with independent volume controls.

There's not many switches or controls, is there anything else I might be missing?
« Last Edit: October 23, 2019, 09:28:43 am by Scott Gray »
Logged

Taylor Hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 816
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2019, 10:21:37 am »

OK, so I connected this way. Now on the power amp A = left and C = right but B and D volume controls do nothing. I'm trying to get a L & R Mains and L & R Monitors all with independent volume controls.

There's not many switches or controls, is there anything else I might be missing?
If that's the case you will need to undo the switch settings that linked AB and CD and run individual inputs to each channel. Linking channels like you did before will only let one gain knob per linked pair control the sensitivity.
Logged
There are two ways to do anything:
1) Do it right
2) Do it over until you do it right

Scott Gray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2019, 10:34:05 am »

If that's the case you will need to undo the switch settings that linked AB and CD and run individual inputs to each channel. Linking channels like you did before will only let one gain knob per linked pair control the sensitivity.


Agreed, it looks like splitters (Y cables ) then.

Thank You.
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5699
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2019, 12:55:03 am »


Agreed, it looks like splitters (Y cables ) then.

Thank You.

You should not be controlling volume at the amp.  Doesn't your mixer have aux feeds for the monitors?  If not consider an XR-12 as an upgrade to that mixer. 

Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5163
  • Central North Carolina
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2019, 10:00:41 am »

I agree.  Monitors require a mix that's different from house, which is usually accomplished by aux mixes.  (Some boards call them by different names.) Each aux mix has its own dedicated output from the board, which feeds into its own designated input and corresponding output on an amp (assuming a passive speaker system).

Hey Carl... Welcome to the forum but you will need to change your display name to your real name as per the forum rules you agreed to when you joined. Just a  heads up ......
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Dennis Wiggins

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 738
Re: PA Power amp Connection Question
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2019, 10:15:45 am »

...The mixer has a L & R main output. The NX4 has A,B,C,D input and 4 channels out (ABCD). How do I connect the L & R out to the power amp input and have A, B, C, and D outputs with independent volumes on each?...

Look at the right side of page 5 of the manual that came with the NX4-6000.

Set both of the switches to "stereo."  This will be the 4 input to 4 output configuration.

Set both switches to "full range."

Use 2 Y cables to "split" each L and R output from you mixer.
(Buy 2 of these:  Hosa YXM-101.5 XLR3F to Dual XLR3M Y Cable, 1.5 Feet)

Plug the 2 split outputs from L into the A and B inputs, and the 2 R into the C and D inputs.

You will now have individual control of each of the amp channel volumes.

A and B knobs will individually control the L signal outputs.  C and D will control the R.

-Dennis

 
« Last Edit: November 30, 2019, 04:34:51 pm by Dennis Wiggins »
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6635
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2019, 11:07:01 am »

I agree.

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
admin
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Posting Rules
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2019, 11:07:01 am »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.078 seconds with 22 queries.