ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?  (Read 645 times)

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« on: October 20, 2019, 09:08:19 am »

I have a house network with a Vlan for audio stuff. All my Dante and other audio bits are on that Vlan. FWIW, 3 Yamaha CL's 2 stageboxes, dante IEM packs, couple of computer, etc. All of this runs on 2 switches. One at FOH and one at the stage.

Also on this network are 2 waves impact servers (redundant), a single YSG card in the console, and the host computer running soundgrid. These are all plugged into the same switch.

Last week we upgraded switches (netgear crap, one was wonky, replaced both). We then enabled IGMP Snooping to handle the multicast traffic. I didn't catch it then, but I get to show day and my Soundgrid stuff can't talk to each other. Does soundgrid use multicast? Or does anyone have an idea on why the console, host, and server can't talk to each other anymore?

Thanks....
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2019, 09:14:20 am »

forgot to add, this is strictly to run plugins on my broadcast mixer. I'm not using protools or any other waves products. In fact, if I could host waves plugins on a dedicated PC and rout it with Dante, I'd probably give up the Impact servers. I'm about done with Waves software.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Brian Bolly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
  • Baltimore, MD / Amsterdam, NL
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2019, 09:17:37 am »

Are the switches you're using qualified Waves Soundgrid switches?

I seriously wouldn't have my Waves switches attached to anything else except devices that are doing Waves, VLAN or not.  And the Netgear GS108 is about as cheap as they get.
Logged

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2019, 09:43:27 am »

Are the switches you're using qualified Waves Soundgrid switches?

I seriously wouldn't have my Waves switches attached to anything else except devices that are doing Waves, VLAN or not.  And the Netgear GS108 is about as cheap as they get.

We are using Netgear GC728XP. It worked with the older netgear switches, and these are brand new and higher spec. Unfortunately I have no control over what switches are used for the network, and I can't take the host computer off the dante network.

The new switches are not on that list, but they are a new product from what I gather. It may not have been updated to reflect these switches.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Brian Bolly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
  • Baltimore, MD / Amsterdam, NL
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2019, 10:16:06 am »

We are using Netgear GC728XP. It worked with the older netgear switches, and these are brand new and higher spec. Unfortunately I have no control over what switches are used for the network, and I can't take the host computer off the dante network.

The new switches are not on that list, but they are a new product from what I gather. It may not have been updated to reflect these switches.

Do you have a dual NIC card/adapter option on the host computer?  Waves is a fickle beast and the more simple the setup the better.  If you can isolate the Waves side of things, especially if that host machine is also doing Dante related work, do it.

Unless you have it in writing from Waves that those particular Netgear switches have been certified by them, I wouldn't trust them - I'd get one of the GS108s, get the Waves side of things on its own network with its own switch that only does that, and be done with it. 
Logged

Benjamin Krumholz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2019, 10:37:43 am »

We are using Netgear GC728XP. It worked with the older netgear switches, and these are brand new and higher spec. Unfortunately I have no control over what switches are used for the network, and I can't take the host computer off the dante network.


Couple Options: Create another Vlan on the new Switch for the SoundGrid Network devices. Connect all your Soundgrid cards and Servers to that VLAN. Use a USB or Thunderbolt NIC on the control computer to access Soundgrid Network. Then use the Built in NIC to access Dante. Or Vise Versa.

Hear Technologies makes a Dante to Soundgrid Bridge.
https://www.waves.com/hardware/hear-technologies-wsg-bridge
Use your old switches to make a separate "Soundgrid Network" with their own switches.. Transfer audio between networks with the Bridge.

I would still get a USB NIC for the Remote control computer.. No problem to use a dongle for the Dante connection if you want to keep the built in NIC for the Soundgrid Network


« Last Edit: October 20, 2019, 10:41:50 am by Benjamin Krumholz »
Logged

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2019, 10:57:01 am »

Do you have a dual NIC card/adapter option on the host computer?

I use the built in ethernet nic for Dante (and used to be soundgrid too) and use the wifi for non essential stuff, vnc, web, etc/.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2019, 11:03:31 am »

Couple Options: Create another Vlan on the new Switch for the SoundGrid Network devices. Connect all your Soundgrid cards and Servers to that VLAN. Use a USB or Thunderbolt NIC on the control computer to access Soundgrid Network. Then use the Built in NIC to access Dante. Or Vise Versa.

Hear Technologies makes a Dante to Soundgrid Bridge.
https://www.waves.com/hardware/hear-technologies-wsg-bridge
Use your old switches to make a separate "Soundgrid Network" with their own switches.. Transfer audio between networks with the Bridge.

I would still get a USB NIC for the Remote control computer.. No problem to use a dongle for the Dante connection if you want to keep the built in NIC for the Soundgrid Network

This might have to be the answer I guess.

I have a Cisco SG300 sitting here unused. We had a pair of those running the Dante just for this room, but then we expanded to sending dante between buildings, etc. IT wanted the same switches everywhere for easier management. It was an issue getting the Cisco switches to live happily on the predominatly netgear network.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

Andrew Hollis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2019, 11:15:46 am »

Test your devices by connecting them directly to each other.
If it still doesnít work itís not your switch/network, itís the devices.

Thereís more to it than IGMP so look into that too:
https://www.audinate.com/sites/default/files/PDF/adding-dante-to-your-network-audinate.pdf

Tim Weaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2321
  • College Station, Texas
    • Daniela Weaver Photography
Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2019, 01:45:04 pm »

Test your devices by connecting them directly to each other.
If it still doesnít work itís not your switch/network, itís the devices.

Thereís more to it than IGMP so look into that too:
https://www.audinate.com/sites/default/files/PDF/adding-dante-to-your-network-audinate.pdf

To be clear, I'm not having any problems (currently) with dante. It's getting soundgrid to live peacefully on the same network as Dante. Soundgrid is Waves' proprietary version of digital audio transport. As of right now I have to use soundgrid to connect the console to the servers and the imac host running the multirack host software.
Logged
Bullwinkle: This is the amplifier, which amplifies the sound. This is the Preamplifier which, of course, amplifies the pree's.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Any Soundgrid/Network wizards out there?
¬ę Reply #9 on: October 21, 2019, 01:45:04 pm ¬Ľ


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.073 seconds with 24 queries.