ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?  (Read 1028 times)

Al Rettich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« on: October 07, 2019, 11:15:51 am »

Recently purchased a DM-2000. Hasn’t arrived yet, so I don’t know if it has VCM or not.  Can all the DM-2000’s be upgraded? Was it a paid upgrade? Why did the VCM upgrade do? Anyone know if you can still get that upgrade?
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1745
    • Check Check One Two
Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2019, 01:07:54 pm »

VCM was a paid upgrade. Just some extra effects. Seems pretty quaint nowadays.

The upgrade was a CD rom which I believe was tied somehow to your console's serial number. I know that once an upgrade was done, that same CD couldn't be used on another DM2000.

Best to contact Yamaha, but I fear you may be out of luck getting the upgrade. Better off finding a used Waves card and using that if you need better FX.


Details on the FX:
https://cvp.com/pdf/brochure_dm_0_vcm_series.pdf
« Last Edit: October 07, 2019, 01:10:09 pm by Andrew Broughton »
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2019, 02:43:34 pm »

Recently purchased a DM-2000. Hasn’t arrived yet, so I don’t know if it has VCM or not.  Can all the DM-2000’s be upgraded? Was it a paid upgrade? Why did the VCM upgrade do? Anyone know if you can still get that upgrade?

If you really want it and the new one doesn’t have it then just be patient and wait for the next time someone gives one away.  I know a couple churches in MN who couldn’t find buyers for DM2Ks (and they legitly tried) so they just gave them away.  One of the receiving churches re-gifted one again when they got a SD9.
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1622
Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2019, 09:53:20 am »

Yamaha has stopped selling the VCM upgrade, and installing it required connection to an online licensing server.
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4284
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2019, 11:13:44 am »

If you really want it and the new one doesn’t have it then just be patient and wait for the next time someone gives one away.  I know a couple churches in MN who couldn’t find buyers for DM2Ks (and they legitly tried) so they just gave them away.  One of the receiving churches re-gifted one again when they got a SD9.
We are having similar trouble getting rid of our M7. Not quite to free yet, but close.
Logged

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2549
  • back home in Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2019, 02:54:26 am »

We are having similar trouble getting rid of our M7. Not quite to free yet, but close.
The DM2000 is 10 times the console that the M7 is and I would much rather take one than an M7. As a matter of fact, I do own my own DM2000. Which I like quite a bit. I wouldn't take an M7 if you paid me to take one off your hands.
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha DM-2000 —> VCM upgrade?
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2019, 02:54:26 am »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.06 seconds with 22 queries.